We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a new property in a good location, less than a mile off highway 101. Lobby very nicely decorated, small indoor pool off the lobby. I was impressed with the friendly desk clerks.
When we got to the room, I was not impressed. Decor is so-so. Coffee & small fridge in the room and white linens were nice, beds were comfy and the room was spotless.
The room was ridiculously noisy. Not just the hallway but we could hear every movement from the room above us and outside the hotel (was that a train?)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lunchladyNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

We, at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, can understand the frustration you experienced with the noise in your room and we would like to apologize profusely for the inconvenience. Thank you for sharing with us ways we can improve on the products and quality of services we offer. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I spent a night here for my daughters cheerleading competition at UNH on Jan 10. The hotel is on the small side, but was more than enough. Rooms were clean and breakfast was warm. The staff was very welcoming, from the front desk to house keeping to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our location. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will choose us again during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a pleasant hotel in a strip mall on a street that runs North form downtown Exeter. Everything was very pleasant and accommodating. I recommend the facility and would return again when visiting Exeter, NH.

The only complaint was the sign for the hotel that was out front. The light inside the sign was mostly out making it hard to read. Arriving in our personal auto on a rainy, dark early evening, it was hard to differentiate the hotel (with its poorly-lit street sign) from the business on either side of it. The hotel's lot frontage is pretty short, so we almost overshot the driveway leading into the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallacestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate that you took the time to let other travelers know of your experience. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The team at the Exeter Fairfield Inn are simply a pleasure to deal with, warm, welcoming, always willing to go the extra mile. It's like staying with family, just waiting for home baked cookies to appear. It's been my pleasure to refer several friends to the Fairfield, and all have had nothing but good things to share about their experiences there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are honored that you continue to choose us as your home away from home. It is a privilege to have you at our location. We look forward to seeing you, during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were glad we made a reservation at the Exeter Fairfield Inn. Because of bad driving conditions we didn't want to drive back to Maine. We were upgraded to a room that had a separate cozy area, with a couch, chair and TV. This was great for watching the Patriots Game. The breakfast in the morning was great. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imatravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our location. We are so happy to know that we were able to accomodate you during the winter weather conditions, and allow you to relax and enjoy the Patriots! We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holiday's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights week before last. The hotel was extremely clean and well decorated. The staff was very friendly and it definitely like a family atmosphere. They were preparing for the annual Christmas parade and had made a fantastic float for it! It was very quiet too!

The breakfasts were good and they had the waffles on the weekend. If you're in to chocolate there's a Lindt store a block away.

There's also a heated indoor pool and a nice fitness room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I arrived road weary and exhausted for a business trip. From check-in to check out (9 nights) everyone was incredible. Robin made breakfast a delight each morning. She is warm, funny and makes you feel like you've known her forever. Kate, Kim and each staff member I encountered were wonderful. I wish I had written this right away so I could remember all their names. One lovely woman at the desk even programmed my borrowed GPS for me! I requested a microwave for my room and a young man arrived with it within 3 minutes. (It was his day off and he had just dropped by-- THAT'S how they roll!) The beds are super comfy and the pillows were so wonderful that I bought 2 of them before I left. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. As far as rooms, decor, etc. Marriott's are pretty consistent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyWoman357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking time to reveiw our property. We are thrilled to know that we met your expectations during your stay. We are glad to know that our staff made a huge impact, and made your stay perfect. We hope to see you back in Exeter again really soon. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#2 of 3 in Exeter
225 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
8.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#6 of 41 in Hampton
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Address: 138 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: $131 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Marriott in New Hampshire is ideal for business or leisure travel. Near Phillips Exeter Academy, just one mile north of downtown Exeter and minutes to glorious beaches and historic Portsmouth. Rooms feature luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless and HSIA, 32-inch HDTV. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast and use of the fitness center with personal TVs. When looking for a Seacoast hotel, you will not find a better choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter Hotel Exeter
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing