We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our second stay at the Fairfield Inn was good as the first...even better. The staff was as helpful as ever and really made you feel welcome. The room was clean with very comfortable beds. But the best service was when we returned home. My husband left his watch behind in the room and before we left NH a phone message was sent letting us know it had been found. A quick call and it was in the mail the next day. The Fairfield Inn will always be our choice when we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell everyone about the Fairfield Inn & Suites -Exeter. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was the key point of your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    50
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
54
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I arrived late on a Thursday evening, exhausted from my drive. Kate was outstanding in accommodating my wishes with a big smile and a generous offer of help whenever I needed. I ironically, did, a bit later. Kate showed up at my door with what I needed within minutes.

The service made my night. I enjoyed a fabulous evening out followed by a restful sleep on some super soft pillows.

Phoebe Ann

Room Tip: quiet, private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureShotGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to mention us on Trip Advisor. We are thirilled that we met your expectations during your stay. We will make t pass along your kind words to Kate, our Guest Service Associate. We hope to see you back at the Fairfield Exeter, real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay here a lot because i visit family in the area. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very pleasant, helpful and always make me feel welcomed.

The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants and shopping. The property is well lite and maintained. I feel safe there when traveling alone.

I've stayed at the Hilton down the street and prefer the Fairfield. They offer free internet and a coin op laundry room if laundry is an issue on an extended stay. The room price is a bit lower too.

Room Tip: I prefer not to be on the first floor because cars park right outside the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Your kind comments of our location are much appreciated. We are delighted that we met your expectations during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just passing through, but the hotel was an excellent choice. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable of the area and extremely helpful. Met housekeeping near the room as checking in, she was very friendly and asked if we needed anything for the room. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, and your interaction with our staff was fantastic.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My business trip was excellent due to the Fairfield Inn's service and employees. The staff was very knowledgable about there town about places to go and eat. The rooms were very clean and the morning breakfast was served hot with many options making my stay a pleasant one. I if I am ever in the area I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask Jennifer to give you a room on the south side which are very quiet. Jennifer always had a smile...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was clean and environmentally friendly to me.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R P M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our Guest Service Associate and will make sure to pass along the information to her. We hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This probably felt very new, smelled clean, and was very well taken care of. Bathrooms are new and quite large. The beds were comfortable and fluffy still.

Service was fine - not wow or not bad - just average.

If I am in the area again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seakobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. I am thrilled to share your review with the rest of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel offers immaculate rooms, a comfortable bed, and a great staff. The rooms are on the small size. We also stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites down the street from this hotel and those rooms where much larger and comparable in price. The hotel is conveniently located right off the highway. The breakfast was good, I especially enjoyed my Belgium waffle. My husband and I like to sleep in a cool room and the air conditioner in our room kept the temperature just as we like it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calm_Waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to hear that you were comfortable during your stay, and that you found our accomadations to meet your needs.

We hope you will visit us again, where we will be sure to have those waffles waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
5.8 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Address: 138 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Marriott in New Hampshire is ideal for business or leisure travel. Near Phillips Exeter Academy, just one mile north of downtown Exeter and minutes to glorious beaches and historic Portsmouth. Rooms feature luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless and HSIA, 32-inch HDTV. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast and use of the fitness center with personal TVs. When looking for a Seacoast hotel, you will not find a better choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing