We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Wonderful customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Exeter, NH with my son's soccer team. The hotel was incredibly clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The customer service was amazing. The staff was very helpful and always had smiles on their faces. I would definitely stay there again. Kate, at the front desk, was wonderful! She was very welcoming!

Room Tip: Air mattresses available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of Guest Service Associate Kate, and look forward to sharing your kudos with the entire staff. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    50
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
54
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in the area for a soccer weekend, and this Fairfield Inn & Suites was only about 15 minutes from the fields our team was playing on, and also very convenient for our trip home back to Massachusetts. The hotel was clean, had everything we needed, and was just a great choice for our team. However, none of us can say enough about the staff. They were exceptional. We arrived en masse about an hour before the officical check in time, and all 6 families were given rooms immediately. Maybe they just wanted our tired and hot soccer players out of the lobby? ;-)

But most importantly, Kate, who was at the desk, and checked us all in was outstanding. She was friendly, personable, bubbly, and had customer service skills that could be used as training for other companies. Any question or request was met with a smile, and every request our group made was accommodated. From getting us air mattresses and bedding, to recommendations for lunch and dinner she was just great.

Our room was perfect, very clean, super spacious, and the mini-fridge was a big help for keeping drinks cold for the soccer players who had to play 2 games in 2 days in 90 degree weather. Breakfast buffet was very nice, everything was fresh, and they started serving at 6:30 which was much appreciated by all of us who had to be back at the soccer fields by 7:15.

I would not hesitate to book this hotel again, and will actually be calling them tomorrow to see about getting a room block for our team for our next tournament in the area at the end of July.

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! We also thank you for your kind words with regards to Kate, one of Guest Service Associates. We are pleased to hear she was helpful during your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Always an outstanding experience with the great staff at the Fairfield Inn in Exeter.
I've had the privilege to stay countless times over the last 12 months, and Jamie and her team make it always feel like home. It's a very well maintained property, which is a treat, but its the little things that count as well, like the staff remembering my name, have tomato juice on hand for me, or the treats of Oreos left in my room. Coming back always feels like home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your continued patronage at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Exeter NH. We are thankful for our faithful guest, and look forward to seeing you each week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at this location beginning Friday, May 17th through Sunday, May 19th. George and Jason were very helpful during the check-in process but Kate Willwerth was especially helpful. They all had great attitudes but Kate went the "extra mile" and provided me with a microwave after I made an off-handed mention of the lack thereof.

She was genuinely cheerful throughout the weekend and always made me feel that she was grateful to have me there. Kate is one of the reasons that I would recommend this location HIGHLY to any of my friends/associates.

Room Tip: Ask for a microwave if one is not available. The elevator was very slow so I would opt for the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbarker2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to Kate, George & Jason. They will be thrilled to know that they made such an impact on your stay! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Kate from the front desk was very helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. She provided us with two extra cots, advise where to eat and a wake up call, all while maintaining a friendly demeanor that made us feel at home. Great value, nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words regarding Kate our Guest Service Associate. She is truly a valuable assett to our company. We are happy to know that she help ensure that we kept our promises to you as our guest. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Elite Dance Competition the weekend of April 26th. The front desk staff was wonderful. As I was checking in the girl told me they were going to give me two rooms (for the price of one) and I thought OK sounds good. Until we started talking about it and I realized they were across the hall from each other. It would have been fine if I had another adult with me but it was just my daughter and myself. After all they did, I had to say no and stick with the room I had reserved. She went one step further and offered me a king suite with a separate king room and a living room with a pull out couch, again for the same price I was paying for a standard room. I said OK. They did everything possible to upgrade me and I totally appreciated it.
The room was nice and it was perfect for us. My daughter had her space, I had mine.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very clean, and the only bad thing I have to say is we ran out of toilet paper and tissues. Not a big deal.
We were on the third floor. Very quiet. The only time I heard nice was with the other kids were running up and down the hallway. There were lots of kids at the hotel this weekend, so I expected that. They offer a decent breakfast (free) each morning, take advantage of it, it's good.
I would stay at this hotel again if I was out that way. I only regret I didn't get the names of the two women working the night I checked in (4/27/13), they were both so nice and pleasant to work with and I would love to give them a shout out!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplerooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Public Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that our staff made sure that your stay was exceptional, and were able to provide you with a room that met your needs. We will make sure that the Guest Service Associates are aware of your praise. We hope to see you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that my expectations were not high as I'd been lucky enough to stay in three different Four Seasons Hotels over the past two weeks before arriving in Exeter. However, the Fairfield was exceptional. The location, for us, was perfect as it provided easy access to the highway and to town (and the Phillips Exeter campus). The interiors were bright and cheerful, immaculately clean and perfectly maintained. I loved that the decor was bold and not the typical safe, drab beige of most hotels. Most importantly, the rooms were very thoughtfully designed and very functional. We stayed in a "larger guest room" with two double beds and a sofa bed. It was far more functional than many luxury suites I've stayed in. The sitting room was separated slightly from the bedroom by the geometry of the room. This meant that someone could use the desk, hang out or sleep on the sofa, or watch TV without bothering those sleeping in the main bedroom area. There were two TVs, a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, free Wifi, etc. There is no room service but there are basic grocery items available downstairs and a simple breakfast (hardly memorable but got the job done) available in the morning and fast, delicious, and inexpensive pizza delivery from nearby restaurants. This room could easily accommodate a family for an extended stay. The indoor pool seemed to be getting lots of use and I saw many families on the property. We were supposed to stay just one night and then travel on to Boston but the city was in lockdown due to the hunt for the marathon bomber so the Fairfield very kindly juggled things around so that we could stay in our room a second night. When next in Exeter, I'll definitely stay at the Fairfield again and will look for these properties in other cities (if I can't stay at the Four Seasons!).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from first time guests and are thrilled that your stay was exceptional! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
5.8 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Address: 138 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Marriott in New Hampshire is ideal for business or leisure travel. Near Phillips Exeter Academy, just one mile north of downtown Exeter and minutes to glorious beaches and historic Portsmouth. Rooms feature luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless and HSIA, 32-inch HDTV. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast and use of the fitness center with personal TVs. When looking for a Seacoast hotel, you will not find a better choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing