We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“fantastic service”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

For the past two years I have been a part of a large group of teachers, parents, and students who stay at this hotel for 1-2 nights. Really, we couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The service is better than just about any hotel I've stayed in, whether as a solo traveler or as a part of a group. The staff are incredibly organized, helpful, and friendly, going beyond any basic job description. The rooms are brightly colored and cheerful, there is free wireless internet service, the included continental breakfast is fine (yogurt, cereal, make-your-own waffle, etc) and the lobby and breakfast area are also cheerful and comfortable. The location is also convenient - right off the highway, it's about a block from a gas station and across the street from a Stop and Shop (with a Starbucks inside). It's about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Exeter. There's a small pool and workout area, neither of which I used, but they looked clean, bright, and inviting.

Room Tip: Since there are groups staying here, it would make sense to ask about that when booking a room. Sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. How lucky we are that you have made a return trip! We hope that you will continue to stay with other for your future trips:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    57
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
56
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I usually think of the fairfield as being the lower range of Marriott. Not this one! It is rewly renovated, very clean and the staff were friendly too. The pool was clean and the breakfast was good. It was not homemade but it was free and yummy, esp. the waffles! I stayed with my husband and three kids

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
The Management and staff of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Exeter, wishes to thank you and your family for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay such a pleasant one and we look forward to your nex visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in may 2011 with my wife and 2 kids (of 4 and 6) for three nights. It was clean, comfortable and I had no complaints whatsoever. People at the desk were very friendly. Only downside to the hotel is that it's located next to a busy road. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgenRaedts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you so much for coming back to write a review of our property! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back to visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've stayed at this property about 5-6 times. Can't believe I haven't reviewed it before. But at least I can say they are consistently my first choice when I travel to NH. Don't be fooled by the name - the Fairfield Inn definitely maintains the high Marriott standard for service and cleanliness. The rooms and linens always smell fresh and clean. Depending on your price point they have regular sized rooms and they also offer larger suites which is really a plus if you need extra room. The suites have a micro and fridge and 2 flatscreens. If you're like me and need snacks in your room there is a small pantry in the lobby with beverages and snacks for purchase. But there is also a full service supermarket across the street.

A breakfast bar is offered in the morning. This trip I saw eggs, donuts, cereal, tea, coffee, waffle maker, sliced bread, bagels and cream cheese, fruit and assorted juices. I did NOT eat all of that, people - I'm just saying that I saw all of those food items. (smile)

The hotel is closest to Manchester airport (approx 35 minutes) but I've also driven in from Boston Logan in about an hour. The front entrace is only a stone's throw away from the freeway exit which is terribly convenient, but it is far enough down the street that you don't hear any street or freeway noise.

Not to be forgotten is the great staff. You can always count on them to be helpful. I've checked in by myself and as part of a large group attending a conference and the staff is always efficient, friendly and helpful with whatever assistance you need.

One other note is that you can feel comfortable sitting in the lounge area off of the lobby. It is pretty spacious. You can watch tv, talk to friends, drink coffee/tea - which they provide free all day or you can use the business center to check on a flight or look up info on the area.

The property is on a main street so if you need to run out to the drugstore, gas station or even McDonalds you can find all of these things within a few blocks.

What more could a traveler want??? Free parking??? Yup, they have free parking too. Happy traveling!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one that is not facing the parking lot. This way you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear cptravelmaven,
Thank you for such an amazing review of our Exeter property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we stood by our promises to you as our guest. Our staff will be proud to know that they made your stay exceptional. And we hope that you will continue to stay with the Fairfiled Inn & Suites -Exeter NH for each and every stay while you are in the area. Let us know when you will be back, so we can make sure we have a special gift waiting for you upon arrival to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve, using my Marriott rewards points. We found the front desk attendant to be exceptionally friendly and courteous. The lobby was very clean and nicely decorated, as was the entire building. Our king room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and well lit bathroom. The included breakfast was very good with several choices and the breakfast attendant was super friendly and helpful. The hotel pool was a bit small but very clean and well stocked with towels, and the exercise room had very modern and clean equipment. Our experience here was exceptional and I highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or business.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer4262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you very much for such a kind review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we stood by our promises to you as our guest.

We are so glad that we started your New Year off with a great stay at our hotel. We hope that you will come back and visit us during your next special occasion. Happy New Year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

. . . . if you are in the area. Pleasantly surprised by the service, cleanliness and large rooms. The lobby is inviting and modern. The staff is exceptional: enthusiastic, helpful, cheerful, pleasant, responsive. Both the bathroom & the room were large, clean & well-appointed. There were a couple of things that others may want to have me point out: the location & the signage. The Inn is in Essex &, despite the fact that Portsmouth is in its name, it is miles away. The Inn is located in a commercial area (many fast food restaurants, strip malls, grocery stores nearby.) Also, we arrived after dark &, since the Inn is not directly on the street, we drove by it because the sign is somewhat small & unimposing. If You're actually interested in staying in Portsmouth, you may wish to check out one of the other lodging possibilities. But, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn to folks planning to travel in the area. By the way, I think the Inn lists a free Continental breakfast but that is definitely an understatement. There is a large spread & many, many selections: Belgian waffles, hot & cold cereals, yogurt, juices, toast, pastries, fruit, breakfast sandwiches (to heat in the microwave), coffee, tea, cocoa , , , something for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Happy New Year !!!

Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we stood by our promises to you as our guest. Our staff will be proud to know that they made your stay exceptional.

We hope to see you at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, Exeter NH very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over Christmas, while visiting my daughters in the area. Everything is fresh, bright and new, & impeccably clean . The room was spotless and well appointed with an incredibly comfortable bed. The beautiful two sided fireplace that separates the lobby from the breakfast room gave it that extra, warm touch! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and for breakfast, which is complimentary with your stay, Shelly made the best waffles, topped with whipped cream and strawberries! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtHounds01930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EFFIS, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Happy New Year!!

We are so please to hear that our Guest Service Associate took great care of you upon your arrival.

We hope that you will choose us again, as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.4 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
221 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
5.8 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Address: 138 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Marriott in New Hampshire is ideal for business or leisure travel. Near Phillips Exeter Academy, just one mile north of downtown Exeter and minutes to glorious beaches and historic Portsmouth. Rooms feature luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless and HSIA, 32-inch HDTV. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast and use of the fitness center with personal TVs. When looking for a Seacoast hotel, you will not find a better choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter Hotel Exeter
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Portsmouth Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing