We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little-known Gem in Exeter”

Epoch Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Epoch Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Transit: Stops in front of Inn Coast bus
Description: We welcome you to Epoch Restaurant and Bar located in Exeter NH. Join us for casually elegant dining featuring the freshest seacoast of New Hampshire products creatively presented. Our award winning kitchen staff takes great pride in serving only the most exquisite food to our guests. Come try this new creative restaurant with great service and outstanding food.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I were privileged to take part in a community invitation to have a three-course meal and meet with the General Manager to sample some new creations in this fine restaurant. We had been there before for lunch, but never for dinner. We were quite impressed.

A great deal of work has taken place to renovate the restaurant, which had fallen into some disarray over the years with prior management. Under new management, and with some staff changes, Epoch has evolved into an elegant, fine-dining restaurant with a phenomenal menu, outstanding staff and a warm atmosphere.

Prices are a bit higher than other area restaurants, but guests are treated like royalty the moment that they walk through the door, and no restaurant in the area can compare with the highest quality food and the way that it is prepared and served at Epoch.

I highly recommend that you take advantage of this neighborhood gem with all of its charm. You will feel the history of the structure as you walk inside this finely-renovated historic building.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bills_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Bill,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We were delighted that you could attend our advisory dinner and from our experience with all of you that evening we hope to continue to improve our service and offerings.

We hope to see you back at the Inn very soon.

Regards,

James Hocking
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had an excellent time at Epoch last night. Everything was just right - outstanding food and menu including a Valentine's tasting menu, friendly and attentive service, and the dining room and bar were buzzing with energy from guests and staff.

The scallops were outstanding as was the chicken entree with fried chicken livers and root vegetables. We did not choose the tasting menu as we were dining a bit late but we did sample the special dessert comprised of a layer of baked meringue topped with caramelized dried cherries, fresh made chocolate ice cream and hot fudge sauce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bchesleynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with the online community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening at Epoch. It was a great occasion and our staff too were delighted and thrilled by the energy of the room and the fun had by those who came out to dine with us.

Please be sure to follow our website closely as we are working on some great promotions for this spring.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

James Hocking
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a late evening dinner at the bar with a friend. The kitchen closes at nine on Monday nights, but they were still willing to serve bar food slightly after 9. It was the best "barfood" I've ever experienced. They had a diverse selection of items, from lobster rolls, to gourmet burgers with fancy cheeses, etc. I had the fish and chips. They were perfectly moist and the batter was absolutely delicious and flaky. The fries were seasoned with pepper and salt and very tasty - just the right texture. They also had a great selection of local beers on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine with us on this occasion. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We take great pride in offering a unique bar option at Epoch and we are also open to receiving new and fun ideas from our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

James Hocking
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I recently had dinner there for a "date night". The decor is very nice, however, it was a freezing cold night and every time someone came in the door, we got a frigid blast of cold air. Not pleasant. Service was ok. Our server was very nice, but not really on the ball. The bread basket was a disapointment. Two bread sticks, two crackers and two nice rolls. Not warm, not enough. The salad did not come with a meal, and it was nine dollars for a wedge of iceberg, with some blue cheese and nuts on the side. Dinner was so so. I had a steak, asked for it to be med well. It was charred on the outside but strangley red on the top of the meat and brown on the bottom inside. My husbands food was good. Food very pricey. We don't mind paying top dollar, IF everything is done top shelf and it sadly was not. Probably would not return unless someone else was paying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to dinner with people from work, and we had such a wonderful meal. Chef Peter Agostinelli did and outstanding job,and our wonderful server Greg took great care of us. James Hocking the General Manager, made all of us feel welcome. He has put together a wonderful team at the Exeter Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontyE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Epoch Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing