We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, value, value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 2 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at the Inn with another couple recently. We wanted to get away, not go too far and have the ability to walk to dinner and shops. This Inn is perfect for this AND the value is outstanding. We've stayed in many inns around NH, Vermont and Maine and some of their nightly room rates are quite expensive. The Inn at the Bandstand rates are fantastic and won't break the bank. Each inn is old and detailed, decorated in period items, known for comfy beds and warm hospitality - a perfect description for this inn too.

We sat down for breakfast, really just looking for some coffee and maybe a little fruit or a muffin and we were served a fantastic plate of sausage, fresh fruit, and blueberry syrup covered hot cooked pastries that were like waffle/french toast pieces mated to each other with a very light cream cheese. Delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay here. We take pride in our breakfasts. No bagels and cream cheese here! Only fresh fruit, home-baked pastries and delicious fresh entrees for our guests!

We do view ourselves as a great value, especially when compared to the big-box chain hotels that have sprung up in town. Neither are as convenient to the downtown as we are, which provides our guests with the best in dining and shopping right outside our door. No parking hassles here!

You are a lovely couple and we hope to have you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

yes, the rooms are comfy and pretty, but the service and the mediocre quality of the breakfast leave me surprised this is a Select Registry Inn. Select Registry has incredibly high standards for their inns, and we tend to go only to those listed because the stay will match the price, and your expectations. Here we had to roam the hallways in the morning looking for someone, ANYONE, who could get us coffee (other guests were having to do this as well). The cookies, while warm, were clearly slice and bake. And the meal, while tasty, was not high-quality nor delicious. In fact the owner bragged openly about how he had cut corners to make our meal. Excuse me? Considering what we had paid to stay there this was offensive. plus a dog wandered around under the tables, licking your feet. It's an okay stay in a rather quaint but dull area of New Hampshire, but considering how many AMAZING inns we've stayed in on Select Registry's roster, I'm surprised this one is permitted to be included.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2n2ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

All reviews, including ones that are critical, are helpful to our business. This review however has many factual flaws to which I feel compelled to respond.

It is noted that this review was submitted on January 30, 2011 regarding a stay that occurred on July 13, 2010, six months prior. Maybe this reviewer got some of their information confused with another stay at another inn where they stayed during the duration between their stay with us and the time of this review.

Our 24/7 coffee, cocoa, and tea bar is located on the main floor hallway of our building. Our guests pass by this area it many times to get to their guest rooms. In addition, we point out this amenity on our tour of the inn, which every guest is treated to when they check in. This guest may have forgotten this part of their tour.

We take enormous pride in our made-from-scratch cookies, which we serve warm, right out of the oven, every evening for our guests to enjoy. We are sorry that this guest could not experience that ‘homemade’ taste.

This guest’s comment of “the owner bragged openly about how he had cut corners to make our meal” is simply not true. Why would a business owner like me say something like that? We also take extreme pride in our specially prepared (again from scratch) breakfasts. From quiches, to overstuffed blueberry pancakes, to sausage and cheese baked eggs and much more….. We take PRIDE in both our breakfasts and great service!

Our beloved dog, Gizmo (a 4 lb Imperial Shih Tzu) sometimes slips into the dining room when enticed by a guest. We try hard to keep him out of the dining room, but occasionally, he sneaks in when coaxed. When we are aware of this happening, we quickly address the situation. I’m sorry this guest took offense.

Again, we find that all reviews are important. I am sorry that this reviewer did not find their accommodation to their liking. I wish that during their stay, they had brought their concerns to my attention so that I could have made every effort to make their stay a more enjoyable one for them.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed for one night on the way north to pick my son up from summer camp in Maine. I just needed a place for the night, but since I was travelling alone didn't want to be in a big hotel. The Inn by the Bandstand was just right...quiet room in the back, comfortable bed, and delicious breakfast. The inn is smack in the middle of town so you can just shop and browse right out of the front door. Lots of great little restaurants in town for dinner and I enjoyed walking up the street to Exeter Academy to check out this beautiful private school.
The staff at the inn was friendly, they answered my questions, and went out of their way to make me feel welcome as a single traveller. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We took a trip to Exeter, NH to get away and relax for a weekend. The inn's website attracted us, and we were pleased to see that things in reality were just as they were presented. Jim, the innkeeper, does a fantastic job of being available without being pushy. We really enjoyed getting to know him during our stay. The complimentary port, cookies (fresh from the oven!), coffee, and tea were a nice touch. Breakfast was very good both mornings - an egg/hash brown casserole one morning and blueberry pancakes the next, served with fresh fruit and yogurt both times.

The house was built in the very early 1800s, so there is plenty of character to keep it interesting. Quite a bit of the inn is still original (floors, rafters, etc.). By 1800s standards, the rooms are quite large; compared to a modern hotel, they are average in size. It seemed as though the rooms had the right amount of furniture for the space, allowing us to sit around comfortably and also place our belongings around the room without it feeling suddenly cluttered. The gas fireplace was wonderful, providing plenty of warmth and ambiance. Given the age of the building, the floors do sag in the middle of the rooms, but they were less creaky than I would have expected. The room was also very quiet, especially considering that it's on one of the main corners of downtown Exeter.

The only thing that I can think of to improve was perhaps the mattress, which felt a bit firm to me. This tends to be a matter of personal preference, though. I certainly had no trouble sleeping.

When you stay at this inn, you feel like you've become a part of the community. Discounts are offered at numerous locations around town when you show your room key, and Jim has partnered with several organizations to create attractive packages that you can add to the stay. We had the opportunity to tour several of the rooms, and they all have something unique to offer that will appeal to different people. All in all, we had a great time and will definitely stay here again when returning to Exeter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank provrabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This inn is in the perfect location with wonderful accomodations and ambiance!
Jim and Katie are the inn keepers and are perfect for the job, they are great hosts and well informed of the area attractions.
Whether traveling for business or a romantic restful time this place is wonderful.
There is always fresh coffee and teas and chocolate chip cookies to die for :) the breakfast is delicious, the beds are very comfortable and you cant go wrong with a bedside fireplace :)
They are located directly in the middle of old Exeter center, you can walk up and down the main st and visit all the unique little shops or walk down to the high school academy and visit the HUGE library or take a drive and visit Kittery trading post or the seaside!
Come here and you are guarenteed a quiet joyful getaway, curl up next to a fireplace with one of their many old books that fill the shelves or your special someone and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevaehs_child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2011

You guys are such a fun couple. We enjoyed having you here for the snowy cold weekend. Indeed, a bedside fireplace can make the cold outside very warm and cozy on the inside! I'm glad you enjoyed the package deal you purchased.... your flowers were beautiful.

You mentioned your walking trip up to the Academy Library... definitely a visit well worth it as it is an architectural wonder, along with a visit to the Science Center and Phillips Church. We sometimes forget that Phillips Exeter has such fine places to visit. The Academy also has a fantastic art gallery and wonderful music concerts and theatrical performances.

Thanks for the kind words about our cookies! I love warm out-of-the-oven cookies, and our guests love them as well. They must be magical because they disappear as quickly as they're put out! We are already looking forward to your next visit to the Windsor Suite...

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was our first trip to a bed and breakfast and I can honestly say I will never be able to stay in a chain hotel they same way again. The atmosphere is delightful. The room felt like we were in a cabin in the woods and the fireplace was definitely a bonus for the cold night. It was very clean and well kept. Breakfast was delicious each morning and there was always a great conversation to be had. Everyone was so friendly. Jim was even kind enough to bring up fresh baked cookies up to our room (which were delicious!). Tons of great restaurants and little shops around. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygal8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

I can't wait for you to come back!! You two are such a great couple! I also enjoyed our morning conversations over coffee and breakfast. I'm also glad you found how great the B&B experience is. So many people just don't know what they're missing! Chain hotels??? Why would you? For about the same price, you can have such a beautiful, unique and romantic experience!

There is so much shopping right out our door... and the food? Wow do we have the choices, just steps away. One hint though... there are limited choices on Sunday and Monday nights. Half of the restaurants close either on one of those nights.

It was certainly a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to seeing you this summer.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed her one night for Valentine's Day and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the lodge looking room. They provided Port Wine, Nice bathrobes as well! The innkeeper showed us to our room and showed us how to work the wonderful fireplace, it was so romantic. We dined at 11 Water street and they offer a discount if you are staying at the inn, it was delicious. We even walked around and checked out the shops. Great place! Great night!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ErinFromHaverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterBandstand, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

We're glad you enjoyed your visit and even more grateful that you chose to write about what a romantic place this is! I think it is almost magical in the winter. Then you couple that with Valentine's Day and... well.... anything's possible!

I'm an old romantic at heart and want everyone to experience one of our romantic rooms with just the light of the fireplace flickering off the 200 year old walls while sipping delicious port wine. mmmmm.....

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $242 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing