We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn by the Bandstand
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional B&B!”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast with exceptional hospitality. The innkeepers were so helpful to tell us about attractions to visit. Our room was very clean. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rreed276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
137
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We arrived midday, the room was clean, nicely decorated. There was a beautiful large working fireplace in our room. Full private bath, attached room for my brother. We had two couches, a small tv, two aircondtioners with plenty of closets. We even had a nice iron and ironing board to iron our "wedding cloths". Plush towels and bathroom spa like housecoats. The breakfast was very good, they have a 24 hour coffee bar and a butlers pantry for ice, wine opener and glasses. English muffins and yummy homemade cookies at night. There were plenty of staff to keep the Inn clean and I even think they changed our sheets while we were out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soldonpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We loved the Inn by the Bandstand! It was elegantly decorated, but also had a very "homey" feel at the same time. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, and our room was spacious and quiet.

The innkeepers, Jim and Vicki, were very welcoming and made us feel "right at home". They know the area well and prepared several day trip itineraries for us with MapQuest directions and recommendations only "locals" would know. The location of the Inn was perfect. We could walk to many great restaurants and quaint shops. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Jim and Vicki were wonderful hosts. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CerveloGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn while visiting our son at Exeter. It happened to be Independence Weekend. Wow! The fireworks were right outside our third story window as was the craft fair and the street market, among other things. Our room was fabulous, our breakfast delicious, and our experience wonderful. Oh, and we were just three blocks from our son!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Wonderful B&B. Wonderful innkeepers. Wonderful breakfast. In a word: wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noe_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

My father and I came here for Experience Exeter week at Phillips Exeter Academy and stayed here at the Inn because the Inn at Exeter was full, and I am definitely glad the Inn at Exeter was full, or else I would not have discovered this wonderful place! It is such a cozy place and the innkeepers are so wonderful and hospitable. The rooms are so wonderful and cozy - my father and I stayed at the Sheffield Suite which had all the amenities of home including a comfortable bed and even a fireplace! Too bad we couldn't stay for the breakfast, we had to check out before then. The location is wonderful; once you are outside, you are already in downtown Exeter, and the academy is only a 3-minute walk away. The only con here at the Inn is that there is no restaurant at the inn, but there are many restaurants for you to choose in the town - the delicious restaurant "17 Water Street" offers a 20% discount to the guests at this inn. For those of you who are coming to Exeter pertaining to Phillips Exeter Academy or just to visit the town, you must stay at this inn!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yumikat2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My daughter goes to the Phillips Exeter Academy nearby and this inn has always been full when I would come from NY to visit. Now I see why. Great value, attentive, skilled management, everything just right for an Inn of its type and location. We were a fairly large party--4 rooms worth--and they were kind enough to allow us a late breakfast time. Most hotels would not. The rooms were comfortable and attractive, with nice extras like gas fires, decanters of Port, microwaves, fridges, cookies, 24-hour coffee and hot chocolate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msafiri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Property: Inn by the Bandstand
Address: 6 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833-2737
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Bandstand 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn by the Bandstand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing