We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Enfield B&B and Inns
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality, beautiful B&B”
Reviewed September 27, 2007

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at Shaker Hill and found it to be everything we ever wanted from a New England B&B. Great location in the centre of the New Hampshire/Vermont region. Easily accessible from I-89. Easy to find if you follow Nancy's directions (turn off the sat-nav if you don't want a very random detour). We stayed in the Shaker Room which to my mind is classic new England, beautiful four poster bed, traditional electric furniture, modern clean en-suite with shower. Wonderful guest lounge with a myriad of books plus TV and DVD player. The Breakfast was stunning with fresh fruit and home made scones and a different entree/main course every day. Nancy and Al are wonderful hosts with a wonderful knowledge of the local area and always happy to help in anyway they can. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Beautiful interior decoration
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmedea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Where to start? Let's just say that after our first B&B stay we won't be considering hotels as an option anymore when we have a choice, Shaker Hill made our experience that great.

The bed and linens were comfortable, my fiancée is making me buy the same towels for our house. Breakfast was wonderful too, Al and Nancy cooked up a nice variety of 2-3 course meals (fruit, scones, and main breakfast course), I think we ate lunch once during the 4-day stay. They're also great to talk to, if you can pry them out of the kitchen for long enough!

We'll definitely be back in the future when we make another trip to New England.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffBTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Enfield, NH is very lucky to have Al and Nancy, and the Shaker Hill B&B. As weary travelers, we were greeted by our hosts and welcomed into their home for a very pleasant two-night stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the new, spotless bathrooms and shower areas were spacious and provided all necessities. We especially loved the luxurious towels! A culinary delight, breakfast at the Shaker Hill is four-star quality, as Nancy prepares original, delicious and irresistable fruit and yogurt parfaits, a wonderful wedge of apple pancake, or my favorite, the leek/cheese filled egg dish. Be sure to sample the edible pansy blossom that decorates your plate. Both Al and Nancy are very knowledgeable about the area, and made breakfast table chat interesting and lively. This is the best cup of coffee you will ever have on your travels, and I credit Nancy and Al with providing a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We will return, and recommend the Shaker Hill B&B to all our friends and family.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

I have stayed countless times over the past 5 years at this lovely B&B while in the Upper Valley for business. This is definitely a home away from home for me. Nancy and Al are gracious hosts with excellent accomodations.
All four rooms are very comfortable - with fluffy towels and sheets that far surpass any hotel in the area. The food is delicious - both savory and sweet - and always a homemade scone or muffin as well. Summertime is a real treat when breakfast is often served on the B&B's wraparound porch with a view of the magnificent gardens!
There is plenty of reading material in the guest rooms and the den - along with a collection of movies. The B&B is close to Mascoma Lake and a great trail (formerly a railroad bed) for running and biking. There is a dog and cat on the premises. A window A/C fan unit and a furnace thermostat is in each guest room.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We are preparing for our 5th visit to this Bed & Breakfast. It has become an almost annual event. We travel from our home in California just to enjoy the great breakfast and the warmth shown by Al and Nancy Smith.

The location of Shaker Hill has allowed us to make "day" trips into Vermont, Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts and Maine. Allowing for a true New England experience without needing to pack and unpack each day. Located within a short distance are some of the the finest shops and best dining establishments we have found during our many travels.

If you like the outdoors, this is the place. Quiet surroundings overlooking a beautiful lake. For me the early morning hikes and short runs get the day off to a perfect start. If you fashion yourself a "runner", as I do, you will love the rolling hills and pure beauty of this area.

Even if you use bed and breakfast's as your main travel accommidations, as we try to do, you will leave (reluctently) knowing that your stay here is as good as it can get.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and I have stayed at the Shaker Hill B&B twice and do not have enough words to describe our wonderful experience. Allen and Nancy are the most gracious hosts and their pets Willie and Bungie are really adorable. In addition rates at Shaker Hill are the most reasonable in the area ($80-$95 per night including breakfast and afternoon tea!). The house was built in 1793 and Allen and Nancy have done an outstanding job of maintaining it. There are 4 bedrooms in the house, all furnished with beautiful wooden furniture. Bathrooms are immaculate and they come with nice amenities such as toiletries, soft towels, and a hair dryer. Beds are comfortable and they come with nice down comforters or quilts and nice silky sheets. But the best part of our stay was Nancy's sumptuous breakfast! She makes wonderful fruit dishes (we had a glazed pear with vanilla yogurt), scones, jams, and amazing egg dishes (perfect omelettes or poached eggs with cheese and herbs!). We truly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2005

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at the Shaker Hill B&B in Enfield. A lovingly maintained building, with beautiful original floorboards. The owners know the area well and recommended how we structure our visit. It worked out perfectly. We got in a little late for afternoon tea, but when we asked if we could still have a cup of tea, our host graciously complied and offered tea and cookies. The next morning, our hostess Nancy suggested a lovely place to go for our morning walk, leading to a path around the lake. We came back to a magnificent breakfast, with homemade crisp and scones and apple pancakes. We had told Nancy that we don't eat meat for breakfast and would rather have fruit. She created the most delicious meal around fruit! Animated conversation around the breakfast table rounded out a wonderful stay.

This B&B is an excellent value, with good, clean and comfortable accommodations (great mattress and bedsheets, comfortable chairs in the room), nice amenities (hairdryer and toiletries), fabulous breakfasts and very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
7.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
9.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 259 Shaker Hill Rd, Enfield, NH 03748-3630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Enfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm country hospitality welcomes visitors to this 1793 farm house; beautifully restored, all rooms have private baths and luxury linens, WIFI available. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the morning. Come, relax and enjoy New Hampshire at its best! Close to the Northern Rail Trail - transportation to local eatery if necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaker Hill Hotel Enfield
Shaker Hill b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing