We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, atmosphere, service!”

Max's Restaurant & Pub at the Snowvillage Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eaton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Max's Restaurant at the Snowvillage is a contemporary american restaurant nestled in the foothills of the white mountains with sweeping view of the White Mountains of New Hampshire, and award winning gardens. Quiet and secluded, yet only 6 miles from Conway, NH, Ossipee, NH, and Brownfield, ME. Join us for a casual dinner in Max's Pub or a more elegant night out in our white linen dining room. Elegant, yet a relaxed atmosphere. We are out in the country of course.
Fryeburg, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal, atmosphere, service!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had not been to the Snowvillage Inn for years although we live about 30 minutes away.
Last evening, we and another couple enjoyed a great meal from start to finish. The rack of lamb with falafel was excellent. Creative house salad with mixed greens and subtle dressing.
I had a pasta dish of with mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes.....no cream...just the
flavors of the ingredients were enough to be delicious. One of us had the chocolate version of a creme brulee which had a bit of lingering spice (chili or chipotle?) which our friend
deemed wonderful. And his spouse ate the accompanying homemade chocolate chip cookie.
There was a wide choice of beer and ale and extensive wine list. And our view across the lawn to an ancient stone wall towards Mt Washington was the extra over-the-top surprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefireedhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“View is lovely and food lives up to it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Up on a hill past Crystal Lake there is this lovely setting of an In restaurant . So often a lovely location is all you get but we had lovely cocktails on a screened a porch where I could have lingered longer...but called to the table we went in to an attractive dinning room. Each entree was carefully prepared and yummy. The staff was friendly and attentive. If you are near this lovely Inn, try the restaurant even if you are not staying there. You will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

One night we ate in the bar and on another, we ate in the restaurant. Both were lovely. The menu is probably more interesting and the food is definitely better than pretty much anything for about 100 miles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NowVoyager2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains of New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good food, no air conditioning”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's been very hot in NH for the past two weeks and the restaurant isn't air conditioned. This is clearly impacting the size of the crowd that would be here otherwise.
The pork dumplings are to die for. Other food was all good but I wouldn't give it 5 stars. We are very particular though as we have a fine chef in the family.
The setting and view of Mt. Washington is outstanding but the heat makes it very difficult to enjoy dinner on hot summer nights. Hopefully, they will be able to add window air conditioners next summer. Some of the rooms have AC in the windows.
We had the ravioli (a new summer mediterranean one - we prefer the portobello one); rack of lamb; potato chip crusted haddock. No desserts. The lamb was very good.
Jennifer is a wonderful hostess and very accomodating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowvillage_Inn, Owner at Max's Restaurant & Pub at the Snowvillage Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Although our dining room does not have air conditioning, we are lucky enough to only experience crazy hot weather a couple weeks out of the year. Eight of our bedrooms do have air conditioning,. We look forward to hosting you again! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Paris, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great out of the way Inn restaurant!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The original owners have returned to make this Inn the great place it used to be! We ate there over memorial day weekend, the food was outstanding and the service was great. We had the evening special which was braised lamb shank, It was perfectly cooked and very flavorful.
I understand the chef recently won the "Best new chef in NH" award! Based on our experience It is easy to understand why!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowvillage_Inn, Owner at Max's Restaurant & Pub at the Snowvillage Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are grateful you enjoyed the NH Restaurant Week menu. It was fun to put together a three course menu for people to try. We hope that the mountain views are showing your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Restaurant & Pub at the Snowvillage Inn also viewed

Eaton, White Mountains
 

Been to Max's Restaurant & Pub at the Snowvillage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing