We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No cots available!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durham
Greenwich, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No cots available!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Do not book this Hotel for future graduations in UNH, poor place to stay! I had to sleep on the floor, as did my daughter, because they only have 7 cots on first come first serve policy, we are from NJ, took us 10 hrs.to get there because of traffic, not my fault! Requested cots 3 months before, when I made reservation, 3 rooms at &544.00 for 2 nights! Go figure! I was give 2 mattress covers, 2 nasty red pillows from an old couch, and a quilt, my daughter was given less, as she was in one of the other rooms I had reserved!

Room Tip: Do not book with Holiday Inn Express in Durham, New Hampshire
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, I'd like to apologize - we feel badly that you did not enjoy your stay. The Front Desk staff let me know of this situation as they worked very hard to make you as comfortable as they could given that we did not have cots available for you. You had reserved a room with two beds and local fire/safety codes do not allow us to put cots in a room with more then one bed. Unfortunately, since safety of our guests is our #1 concern we would not have been able to put a cot in your room. For future reservations here or anywhere else, cots may not be guaranteed. Here in Durham, they are available on a first come basis and when we requested we make certain to tell our guests this, especially during a busy weekend like graduation. Please feel free to contact me personally as I'd be happy to discuss this with you over the phone. Until then, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    28
    5
    9
See reviews for
57
23
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

whenever you are in a small college town, you can never quite know how heavily used and abused a local hotel can be. We were very pleasantly surprised with the excellent condition of this Holiday Inn Express. It was two weeks before college graduation, so the hotel was very quiet. The staff at the hotel are delightful college/college age students who are more than willing to help with anything you might need. The downside, however, is that this hotel does not have a swimming pool. However, we were visiting friends, visiting UNH as former students, and we had a great time staying there and being able to walk right into town. Definitely would stay there anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and we are so happy that you had a good experience here in Durham! Hopefully we were able to make up for our lack of a pool! Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

having stayed here several times....we can now honestly give our rating. location is the best. rooms are fine. air condition machines are loud and will keep you awake. when we checked in the message to us is always
we are sorry we do not have the bottled water that they are supposed to give to all guests..Ironically, there is a Circle K across the street.....that sells water!.
they also did not have a bottle opener. so..message being is no extra services and so do not expect any!!
Had a dog running around during our breakfast this morning licking up food from floor.....not pleasant.
free breakfast is nice. and location is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest, we value our priority club members, and always offer our thanks by providing something complimentary. Sometimes candy, water or cookies. While we ran our of bottled water that night we did have fresh baked chocolate chip cookies instead and we hope you were able to enjoy one. With that being said, I do apologize that you wanted a bottle of water and did not get one. Next time you are traveling here, please express this to us - we do have Poland Spring bubblers or vending machines available 24/7. We are also sorry you found the AC unit to be loud, next time please let us know and we would be happy to fix it for you, or move your room right away. In addition, we do allow dogs on our first floor but I can assure you there was never a dog in our breakfast room during breakfast hours. We take every effort to provide a clean and sanitary place to eat and take pride that our breakfast attendant has been with us for over 6 years and has been in the private catering business for her whole life. We only allow the highest level of cleanliness. I do apologize though, if you saw a dog in the hallway with his/her owner and you were not pleased. We typically do keep wine openers and sadly the last one was not returned. Since we do not serve alcohol on property we usually on have a few for when a guest is celebrating and has purchased their own wine. I can assure you that we do replenish these when needed. Since the Circle K that you mentioned does sell wine, I am sure they may sell wine openers. We will surely find out this information for our guests. Please feel free to contact management directly as we are always eager to hear feedback from our guests, and always strive to ensure an excellent stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location with 5 minute walk of UNH. Room was very comfortable. Flat screen tv. Comfortable bed and good shower. Very good breakfast included in nice dining room with morning news on TV. Friendly staff that happily provided a late checkout time. Will definitely stay there again if visiting UNH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on March 17, the night before a meeting at the Universiy of New Hampshire. The hotel was convenient to campus and I was able to leave my car in the hotel parking lot during my morning meeting; this alone is a very important bonus as parking anywhere on campus is impossible. The hotel itself had no surprises - the room was very clean, the common areas were pleasantly decorated and breakfast was the same as you'd get in any similar hotel. The manager who checked me out on Monday (3/18/13) morning was efficient & friendly (maybe even "bubbly", in a good way). I'd stay again (though it is the only hotel in town).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryGering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, we are so happy that you had a good experience while staying here. We certainly hope we will see you during your next trip to the area (even if we are the only hotel in town!) Have a happy spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Durham isn't an easy place to stay since the University of New Hampshire's New England Center closed. The Holiday Inn Express has a great location close to the center of town and UNH. It's your basic Express hotel, decent service, OK decor, clean and pretty quiet. Breakfast was nothing special, but free. In my last (January) stay I found the wall heater unit quite obnoxious, noisy enough that it woke me up every five minutes when it came on. Next time I'll be tempted to open the window so the heater just stays on all the time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainRadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are very glad you noticed how clean are rooms are, we actually have each room inspected after they are cleaned to ensure a super clean and comfortable visit! We hope that our service exceeded your expectations as that is always our goal. We are also so sorry to hear that our AC/Heat unit bothered you! We always keep routine maintenance on them in each room and feel badly that this one was noisy for you! Hopefully we will earn your business again in the future, and please note that if ever you are unhappy with a room let us know, we will do our best to fix the issue as best we can. Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
267 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location to UNH (approx 15 min walk/less than 5 minute drive); no other choices unless you drive to Dover - thereby the price. Modest hotel situated next to row of apartment housing. Hotel shares its parking lot so make sure you display your parking permit. Great breakfast assortment. Decent size room, clean and comfy. Windows opens up/down, flatscreen tv, no ref, microwave for common use situated by ice machine & vending area. Bedroom carpet needs regular shampooing or perhaps about time it be replaced; my sons' white socks turned black - disgusting - it was beyond laundering! Lady at front desk check-in was vibrant & welcoming. Service was attentive/immediate when needed; I guess it all depends on who you get. The town's food places dies down by 8:30 pm; some lunch places closes by 2:00 pm; not much of restaurant assortment to choose from. Drive to nearby Dover instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEDurhamManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are glad to hear you experienced great service while here, and had a chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast! We strive to ensure every single guest leaves with a positive experience. We do want to let you know that as of next week, we offer microwaves and refrigerators as a standard amenity in every room! Hopefully you will visit us again and get to use them! We do shampoo all of our carpeting on a regular basis both in house as well as professionally, so I am surprised to hear that you experienced this but so sorry that this may have happened. In the future, please let us know right away if you experience a problem in your room so we can fix it and ensure you have a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you are enjoying the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
0.1 mi away
Three Chimneys Inn
Three Chimneys Inn
#1 of 2 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
8.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durham
Address: 2 Main Street, Durham, NH 03824 (Formerly Hotel New Hampshire)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Durham hotel is New Hampshire s newest Express, conveniently in the heart of Durham in Southern New Hampshire! The hotel is just minutes from the University of New Hampshire & UNH's- Whittemore Center.Our hotel has 68 guest rooms including 2 suites & is 100% Non-Smoking. Our rooms offer wireless & hard wired hi-speed Internet connections! Enjoy free Express Start Breakfast each morning featuring the exclusive Express Cinnamon Buns. While sipping Smart Roast coffee, peruse through a complimentary USA Today! It s Simply the Smart way to start your day!In addition to being located at UNH, the Holiday Inn Express Durham is near many schools; Phillips Exeter Academy, Franklin Pierce College, & St. Thomas Aquinas High School. Durham is minutes from Portsmouth, Rochester & Dover which are full of history, shopping & local flavor. Visit Red Hook Brewery, the historic forts such as Fort Constitution or catch a concert at Hampton Beach Casino. We are within minutes of the Fox Run Mall & the Kittery Outlets.Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual & Goss International are just a few places that our business travelers visit.Our friendly & knowledgeable staff is ready to provide you with superior service! When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel you are Staying Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing