We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, wonderful price!”
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dover
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay, wonderful price!”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

My family stayed at the Hampton Inn in Dover on an overnight stay. I was happily surprised by what a nice hotel it was. It seems to be a very new property -- everything was sparkling clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast, though basic, was a nice touch, particularly given the low price that we paid for the room. When visiting the Dover area again, I would definitely make this my home base.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    124
    36
    20
    5
See reviews for
197
96
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

My husband and I decided to come to NH and do a little tax free Christmas shopping on black Friday. I booked this hotel and did an advance purchase. We were more than pleased when we arrived. The hotel is immaculate, the service top notch. They have a free hot breakfast. A reception in the evening. The pool/hot tub area was wonderful also. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Dover is about 15 minutes from Portsmouth and about 45 minutes from Salem New Hampshire. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Pizzeria Uno, Chilis, 99, Applebees and several others. Dover is built up a bit so everything is nearby. The bathroom was quite spacious compared to other hotels I have stayed at. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drlhbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liketotravel024
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We had the best experience with friendly and helpful staff. The beds were so comfortable we slept like a baby and the room was very clean. The location was great it was 1 hour to the mountains, 45min to 1 hour to beaches in NH and Me. 1 hour away from boston. I will definately be back. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had the good fortune of visiting this hotel for a weekend getaway with two pre-teen girls. From the moment we checked in right up to when we checked out, everything was better than expected. We arrived about 12:30 and were greeted cheerfully and offered the keys to our room (although check in time was 3 PM.) The room was on the third floor half way down the hall from the elevator. We were pleased to see that it was fairly large and the bathroom was especially attractive: clean, large, well lit, good mirror, well stocked with towels. We learned that there was a 'reception' each evening (offering beer, soda, apples, salsa & chips, cookies) and breakfast (nothing extraordinary here but it was free and satisfying. It included instant oatmeal, toast, bagels, Danish, cold cereals, fruit, a hot dish-poached eggs one day and sausage/egg/biscuit the next.) There was an indoor pool and whirlpool that the girls enjoyed. The hotel is close to lots of shopping, restaurants (some were easily within walking distance) and tourist attractions (Portsmouth, NH and Kittery, ME for instance.) Downtown Dover is a lovely, quaint spot to visit, too. Another nice touch: Internet service was free to guests in their rooms, and a business area was available for folks to use computers, printers, etc. Parking is free, plentiful and well-lit. Lobby is inviting and there is a large lounge area with a flat screen TV where the breakfast and receptions are held daily. Person at the front desk was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Just spent 4 nights here while travelling in the area. Clean, very comfortable and very affordable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JustLikeItWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Nice new, clean hotel. I find most Hampton Inns do a great job. Nice breakfast, fantastic bed. Just what I needed and they delivered.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KscOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have you and the family stay at the Hotel. I am sorry I did not get to see you on this visit. I want to Thank you for the Card. I'm looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This hotel is a fabulous place to stay!

It is new, clean and fresh. The beds are great, the flat screen TVs in every room are a treat.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay is great.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BballTravelerVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Three Chimneys Inn
Three Chimneys Inn
#1 of 2 in Durham
193 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Property: Hampton Inn Dover
Address: 9 Hotel Dr, Dover, NH 03820-2171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#1 Family Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located close to the beaches, malls & outlets, airports, mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing