We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
186
35
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
35
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones high tea tea parlor bed and breakfast tea room beautiful victorian murder mystery weekend new england wonderful breakfast great hosts quiche petit fours lemon curd wonderful weekend each morning downtown dover a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 227 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Made reservations for lunch in the tea room to celebrate a dear friend's birthday. There was apparently some mix up with the reservation as when we arrived we were told that we had arrived on the wrong day. When I assured them several times that my reservation was for that day and offered to show my confirmation they checked again and realized I was correct. So unfortunately it was not an auspicious beginning to our lunch as we felt unwelcome initially. The staff overall were very friendly and efficient aside from the awkward beginning.

The ambiance of the tea room is quiet and charming. The tea room and bed and breakfast are located in a lovely old home near downtown Dover. The food is very expensive for what you get but it is a small place and it is understandable that they need to charge a bit more in order to be profitable. Overall the food averaged out to fair. The servings were on the small side. Soup was pretty good and scone and petit fours were delicious. The quiche was very bland and had a strange texture (not custardy) so I would not recommend ordering that. They have a huge assortment of teas in interesting flavors to choose from and both of our tea choices were very good.

Overall we had a nice experience at the Silver Fountain Inn Tea Room and it is a lovely place to go with some girlfriends for a special occasion. If it had not been for the reservation mix-up and the not very good quiche I would have rated four stars.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maryo498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverfountaininn, Owner at Silver Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

We sincerely apologize for the original mix up and appreciate your patience. We hope that your next visit warrants the higher rating - we do change our menu every month (including quiche flavors) so hopefully it will be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

We love it here. Lunch in the Tea Parlor is fabulous. We always look forward to the new monthly menu. (They offer gluten free items too if you let them know in advance). We attended our first Murder Mystery Dinner and booked a room for the night. We had a great time. Jim and Pam are exceptional hosts. It's the small details like tea, small sweets, robes in the rooms, etc. that make it feel like home.We can't wait to do it again!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverfountaininn, Owner at Silver Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thanks for the 5-star review! You two were great characters and obviously good costumes. So glad you two enjoyed it and I look forward to seeing you this New Years (if not before:)).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Spent a Murder Mystery Weekend at the Silver Fountain Inn from 11/10-11/12. We had such a fun and exciting time! We met some great people including the owners of the Inn, Jim and Pam. Jim and Pam made you feel so at home!

The Inn is beautiful! A beautiful Victorian home! The rooms are all different and have their own personality. The room are kept very clean!

The Murder Mystery was so much fun! My face hurts from all the laughter! Everyone really got into their character!

The food at the Inn is amazing!

We will definitely be back to this Inn!!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ShawnS816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverfountaininn, Owner at Silver Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

You two were great and we can't wait for the next one you're involved in! It was the first time we heard everyone clap when they met their demise:) Both of you played your parts so well! Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Jim and Pam were excellent hosts. We came for a murder mystery weekend, which was a lot of fun! We'll definitely be back. The "Chamber" room was very large with a huge bathroom. The private entrance with private porch was adorable. The entire B&B has gorgeous, Victorian decor and the breakfast is not to be missed. The location is great for walking into town. Dover is very cute and there are plenty of great restaurants and places to shop. We especially loved the 7th Settlement Brewery and the Thirsty Moose.

Room tip: The Chamber is large, but on the main floor and not as quiet as others might be.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverfountaininn, Owner at Silver Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you and so happy to have met you two - what a fun group!! Mad Rose was the best and the costumes were exceptional! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

My husband and I made a spur-of-the-moment overnight trip to the NH Film Festival in Portsmouth. The hotels downtown were mostly booked solid and very expensive. I found the Silver Fountain Inn on TripAdvisor and they had one room left, so I grabbed it. It was only a 15 minute drive to downtown, and a nice little B&B.

Room tip: I would suggest a room that has an en-suite bathroom.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheTravelChicks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverfountaininn, Owner at Silver Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

We're so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay and the festival! It was a pleasure to meet you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews