We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time, will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Fountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful time, will be back”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from two nights at the Silver Fountain Inn. Amazing house - wonderful accommodations, beautifully appointed rooms. Fantastically made breakfast with a wonderfully diverse menu. Pam & Jim are perfect innkeepers - the industry in lucky to have them. Cookies at the door! My wife & I were there for a 'babymoon', and we came home after the day out to a bottle of sparkling grape juice and a congratulatory card! I've never experienced that kind of personal attention and care. We will be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: No bad rooms that I could see. Quiet neighborhood. Third floor walk up might be a little tough on so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    32
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overall, a very nice inn in a beautiful location at a price that, for the seacoast region of New Hampshire, is really superb!

It's owned by a Jade, a hospitable, very friendly young lady whom I believe is the daughter of the late Susan (who's been mentioned in older reviews a number of times, and evidently passed away in July 2011, judging by a small memorial on the bookshelf of the dining room). It's obvious she works very hard to almost single-handedly keep the inn comfortable and nice. We saw her baking in the mornings, cutting vines and tending the garden during the day, and tidying up in the evenings--and all of this work has paid off. I hope that in some time, she'll be able to find a gardener or other help to relieve her of some of the very hard work we saw her doing day in, day out!

There are a couple of areas for improvement (though, none so major I'd not stay again!). Some little things in the rooms feel out of place (the modern rustic end table in the bathroom of a room decorated in an otherwise more classical style, and the curtain veneers stapled to a board on the wall), or otherwise need improvement or replacement (the dingy shower floor, a couple of broken lampshades, and insufferably slow wireless internet access upstairs).

But the above doesn't detract too much from what was a very pleasant stay overall. The inn has been carefully and tastefully furnished, and once again, Jade is so cheerful! She has freshly baked cookies, coffee, and Portsmouth Tea Company tea available at all hours of the day, and the breakfast is homemade and is very good, complete with jams from the nearby Stonewall Kitchen.

This really is a great place to stay on the seacoast, and you really won't regret popping in for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, NH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our son graduated from UNH this year. We tried to get reservations at a B&B in Durham for graduation weekend back in November. The place we called was already booked, but they suggested we try the Silver Fountain Inn in Dover. Dover, being right next to Durham is a very convenient, 10 minute drive to the UNH campus.

I went online to check the Inn out, and they had rooms. We booked Room #2 with a canopied King sized bed, and a double sized daybed. As our daughter would be joining us the extra bed was key.

We were met at check-in by the owner, Jade. She was great. Very accommodating, and willing to do whatever it took to make our lives easier. The room was beautiful. My wife couldn't get over how nice it was. The Inn is locked at all times (you need a key code to get in), so safety was never an issue. The Inn was full for graduation, but while we saw people at breakfast, we never heard anyone else.

If you are planning on being in the Durham/Dover area for any reason I would highly recommend Jade and the Silver Fountain Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGoodrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on May 12, 2013. The purpose of our stop was to visit with family.
We have stayed here before and we have always found the room, bath and bed clean and comfortable. Jade is a wonderful hostess and goes out of her way to please her guests. We invited my sister and our nephew for breakfast( with prior arrangements with Jade and a modest additional cost). The breakfast is made to order and she always offers 3-4 choices.
We always ask for a room on the back of the house since we are use to quiet.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the back. There is a road way on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Fountain Inn because it got good reviews and because a two-night discount was being offered. Jade and Kaley were attentive, helpful hostesses (we were house hunting and got some tips), and we appreciated their accommodation of our late arrival. We stayed in the Bellamy room and found the bed comfortable and the room quiet. And as a nice touch, the complimentary toiletries were far superior to the usual stuff you get. It was exactly what we were looking for on our kid-free weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmcd416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Me
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We used The Silver Fountain for two days as the staging area for the Wedding party for our daughter's Dover, NH Greek wedding. She took over the entire establishment minus one room...

My wife and I have stayed for years at B&B's up and down the East coast from Maine to Florida as we are cruising sailors. Of them all... The Silver Fountain was our absolute favorite- from the amazing feel of the amenities, to the graciousness of our host Jade and her staff, to the outstanding over the top Victorian "feel she has achieved."...

Highly recommended on so many fronts... DO have her amazing breakfast ! ! !

As a Mainer, I can see how this wonderful Dover B&B can be used a s a perfect central location for Maine and New Hampshire travels by car.

THANK YOU, Jade !

William Shea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_Island_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Silver Fountain in Dover, NH. The place is a large old home that has a lot of original work. We picked Dover as a central location (went to Newburyport MA. as well as places in Maine) and stayed for 4 nights. Jade and Kaylee do their best to make sure your needs are taken care of without imposing on your privacy. The house is a lovely, large Victorian with spacious rooms and the price is very competitive when compared to any of the neighboring towns. The food is great and afternoon cookies are enjoyable when returning late in the day. This is one of only a few Bed and Breakfast places that give you options for breakfast rather than put down lots of choices that may or may not work. Whether you're looking for a central location to enjoy the neighboring towns or just a one night stay at an affordable price with good service you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There's a great little crepe place in town that services mostly locals and has limited seating b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeusoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 6 in Dover
459 reviews
4.5 mi away
Three Chimneys Inn
Three Chimneys Inn
#1 of 2 in Durham
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
10.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fountain Inn

Property: Silver Fountain Inn
Address: 103 Silver St, Dover, NH 03820-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Fountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Bed and Breakfast, 8 beautiful rooms all with private bath, Wifi, mini-refrigerator, robes and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing