We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Fountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Impeccable b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I agree with all the previous high ratings, one of the best b&b's we've ever stayed at, and we too have stayed in many. They get all the details right. We walked in and were wowed, from the common areas to our room (the Silk room). Bed very comfy. Shower a bit awkward, in a tub with a plastic shower curtain sort of too close. But overall, perfect place; site photos don't do it justice. Beautiful neighborhood, pretty downtown area. Unbelievable value for the price. Eat at Newick's while you're there. We couldn't get a hotel deal in Portsmouth so we picked here, and so glad we did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spofford, NH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had never stayed in Dover,NH but always enjoy trying new bed and breakfast inns. We were so delighted that we plan on returning when we are in the area.
Susan prepares exquisite breakfasts(with choices) and provides just the right amount of attention to your needs. Example-we were too tired to go out for dinner one evening so we ordered a meal to pick up and eat at the Inn. Susan made sure we had silverware, napkins and space to eat.

Room Tip: Look at the web site prior to calling and ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Silver Fountain Inn is only two hours from my home, so normally I would not have been on vacation there, but I stayed there twice as it is close to the University of NH. It is easy to find, close to the center of town and the highway, along a street of stately homes.
The historic house is in immacutlate repair with comfortable period decorating. I especially like the gray wall paper that looks like plaster freize that lines all three floors of the grand staircase. Even if you don't stay in the master bedroom, ask to see the Silk Room. The walls are covered with antique silk! It is very impressive.
The staff are very friendly, enthusiastic and genuinely welcoming. A platter of home made chocolate chip cookies greets guests as they enter the house. Cold beverages are always available in the refridgerator set in the dining area for guest use.
Rooms are good-sized, have ensuite bathrooms, and beds are very comfortable. There are several pillows, of varying firmness, so they guest can find one to their liking. The toiletries are imported and very nice. In winter, in addition the the usual central heating, a portable heater is added to the room so that guests can have the room to their personal comfort level.
Breakfasts are extraordinary! Each is cooked to order from a choice of five offerings, which change daily. Specials I remember include scrambled eggs done with different add-ins, varous omlets, as well as gourmet french toast and pancakes. While you wait for your entre you have homemade muffins just out of the oven and fresh fruit. Usually breakfast starts at 8:00, but they had a full breakfast ready early for us when we needed to leave earlier.
In short, this is a lux experience for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLJJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I just visited the Silver Fountain Inn last weekend for our fifth wedding anniversary. It was even more beautiful in person than the pictures online. There is a little sitting room with a fireplace, a selection of movies to borrow, books to read, coffee and tea available at any time as well as soft drinks cold in a refrigerator. There was a plate of (delicious) homemade chocolate chip cookies by the door when we arrived that I sampled throughout the weekend. Breakfast began each morning with a fruit cup and fresh baked bread or muffins, followed by your choice of the day's omelet, egg scramble, french toast or pancakes, bacon, sausage. Everything tasted wonderful and the service was above exceptional. This place was more than we expected, cost less than other options, and we definitely would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmh216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Silver Fountain Inn is all the good things previous reviewers have stated, and more. We told Susan (the owner) that we were leaving early in the morning, before the Inn's scheduled 8-10am breakfast. Susan was up and had breakfast ready for us before we left. Susan makes this Inn a lot more than just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanna026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

recently stayed here while in town for a meeting... so pleased that I found the inn. It was clean and comfortable, the home is spectacular and the service was warm and friendly. I stayed in the oak room- the bathroom was huge and the bed very comfy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We arrived late (after 9pm) on a Saturday night. We called ahead and the owner, Susan, made provisions for our late arrival. We went straight to our 3rd floor room when we arrived. The amenities provided were a nice change/upgrade from what we would expect from a similiarly priced hotel room. Free bottles of springwater and sodas stocked in a fridge in the living room. Ice was also available in the fridge. Our room had a very comfortable queen size bed. Extra pillows were found in bottom of the entertainment amoire. After a restful nights sleep in the tastefully yet simply decorated room we headed down to the veranda for a delicious breakfast. Breakfast featured freshly made fruit cocktail, homemade raspberry muffins, plenty of fresh, hot coffee, and juice. I had an omlette made with tomatoes from the inns own garden, baby spinich and feta. The omlette was accompied by crispy bacon and a lightly toasted english muffin. My wife had the strawberry french toast special. Service was friendly and excellent. If the weather is good I would recommend you dine before nine to make sure you will have a table on the veranda. We will be staying next year during the airshow at Pease.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitz-picks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
4.5 mi away
Three Chimneys Inn
Three Chimneys Inn
#1 of 2 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fountain Inn

Property: Silver Fountain Inn
Address: 103 Silver St, Dover, NH 03820-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Fountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Bed and Breakfast, 8 beautiful rooms all with private bath, Wifi, mini-refrigerator, robes and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing