We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Bisque in the NH Seacoast Area”
Review of Fish Shanty - CLOSED

Fish Shanty
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Bisque in the NH Seacoast Area”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I used to live in Dover, and this was a favorite stop 2-3 times a month. In the coldest of winter I would stop and get a quart of lobster bisque to go, and enjoy it at home. Every meal I have had at the Fish Shanty was excellent - well seasoned, well prepared, well presented. The staff are friendly and helpful. I still have family in the area and when I'm back, it's the first place we head. Thanks, Fish Shanty!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love4Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston Area
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish chowder”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Many to here for the fried fish and French fries. But according to my mother, they have a healthier option. Their seafood chowder is very good and a great option when you go for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place, I just ordered the wrong thing”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My hubby had been talking about the lobster bisque at the Fish Shanty for years. So, one day we happened upon the opportunity for me to experience the same for lunch. Very nice atmosphere, nicely thought out.

The staff was very friendly and attentive. And yes, the lobster bisque as a starter was quite good. A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

We enjoyed our lunch very much and our waitress was quite relaxed, but very attentive. I'd recommend Fish Shanty to anyone. Just expect to pay a bit more than you would at a chain restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvngye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We went to this restaurant after it being suggested when we were staying at the Comfort Inn & Suites, Paul said this "was the place to go for seafood", and he was correct. The food was outstanding and the service was great. Next time I am in the dover area I was certainly stop in again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlover86021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good average seafood restaurant.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great service, good large portions. Food was just average for New England, but very fair prices. Although I expected a little more from a New England seafood restaurant, I would eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dadaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing