We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the State” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newick's Lobster House

Newick's Lobster House
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocala Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the State”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Grew up on Dover Point right next door to Newicks moved away 15 years ago and always make it a point to return to this place every year when we come back to visit Capt Jack makes this a great place to eat can not find anything here in Floreida to compare to the great taste of a good old Newicks Seafood Plate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nateseke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    144
    75
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
267 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointment after many years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been coming here since our grandparents were around and have taken our children many times. We've always loved the fisherman's platter, onion rings, and chowder. This time, the chowder was the equivalent of watered-down skim milk with some small pieces of potato and clam, not the thick comforting chowder we've come to expect. Disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMF568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Have never wanted to eat at a restaurant two nights in a row, until now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is one of our favorite spots in New England. On a recent return visit to the area (we have moved away), it reminded us of how much we missed it. Wonderful selection of great seafood, view of the water, and relaxed atmosphere. Great place and a must visit in the area. Be warned if you are looking for upscale--the plates are paper, and it goes for the picnic look. But, the food is top notch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Tagged along with the Wedding Rehearsal group who was having their Dinner here. I had the Lobster Stew which was simply large chunks of lobster in a butter and cream base (maybe 16oz? in paper bowl). That plus a large onion ring appetizer (on styrofoam plate) and two plastic (punch bowl size) cups of red wine came to $40. I don't eat seafood very often and rarely lobster, so I cannot comment on value or taste, but I did enjoy the stew not the onion rings (they were only warm by the time they came out). The idea of the plastic and styrofoam is supposed to save you some $$, so I'll have to let you decide. This place is definitely accommodating for large groups (about 30 in ours). We were able to have separate checks without any trouble.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieG723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
181 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“All Good Things Must End !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Been going to Newick's for more than 30 years....Never cheap place to eat, BUT used to be reasonable...NO MORE !!!!....We arrived on Saturday at noon...There were 10 cars in the lot & about 20 people in the restaurant...Now I KNOW WHY !!!!..Seafood platter was $29 !!! My wife & I each had the Haddock Nuggets & Gulf Shrimp combo and a soda. We got 5 pieces of "haddock about 1 1/2 inches cubed. We got 14 (I counted them) "Gulf Shrimp"; each the size of a nickel .... Total bill including tip: FORTY-SEVEN DOLLARS !!!!....What a JOKE !!!!...NEVER AGAIN !!!! I'll go out of my way to the BEACH PLUM !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PEIGOLFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newick's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing