We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Newick's Lobster House
Ranked #2 of 118 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Union, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Newick's in Dover, Saturday evening. It wasn't too busy, we were seated right away. The hostess was very pleasant and our waitress was attentive and polite. We both ordered from the Newick's Boat Yard Combos. We had the homemade chips to start but they weren't the best we've had, slightly overdone, not very thick, but still good. My husband had clam strips and calamari. Clam strips are his favorite and he was very pleased. The calamari wasn't as good. Lots of breading, not too tasty though. I had the haddock nuggets and onion rings. The onion rings are always delicious, thick cut, perfect! This is the second time I've had the haddock nuggets at Newick's and I was even more pleased! They were delicate, thick pieces, battered perfectly, absolutely delicious! We both had the cole slaw as well, nothing special but good just the same. Every time we visit Newick's we leave happy and stuffed! The portions are perfect and sometimes huge! Prices are great for fresh food. The dining are is open, lots of ceiling fans, checkered table cloths and paper plates. The big windows let you enjoy the sights over Little Great Bay. Comfortable, even with the open concept, it's not crowded. We will visit here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    153
    81
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Travelling back to Boston found this place just of the freeway. Beautiful dummy day and got a window seat. Really good salad for lunch and half a dozen mixed oysters on the shell all excellent. The sea food cocktail sauce was great. Really good way to spend an hour or two with great views over the sound. The lobster specials looked really good but to much for lunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rover75golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The seafood can't be beat!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We live in the area and have been visiting Newick's for years - whenever we are in the mood for fresh seafood. If you are looking for fine dining, this restaurant is not for you. Food is served on paper plates, with plastic utensils. The best bet for alcoholic beverages is draft beer. Wine selection is limited and you get a very small plastic cup of wine. Although there is a full bar, mixed drinks are good enough, but also small. Overall, you can't beat the place for fresh seafood. The lobster stew and chowders are great. With the clam chowder there is a choice of thick or thin and my husband is happy whenever the chowder is thick! Also, the onion rings are the best any where. Since we live 10 minutes from the place, we have ordered lobsters cooked for a lobster feed when our kids visit at Christmas time or in the summer - very convenient for us and a whole lot less work than cooking the lobsters at home, especially in the winter months. Love to sit by the window overlooking the bay. Every once in a while we've caught a beautiful sunset, but it is nice by the water anytime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“As close to the ocean as you can get...”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Newick's is as close to the ocean as you can get. Sitting on the bay in Dover,NH is just off the Atlantic cost port of Portsmouth.

Service is ALWAYS fast and friendly and the seafood can not be beat. When you choose this restaurant, you pick it for the food... Everything is served on paper plates and you use plastic forks. But the food..... So yummy!

If you like seafood with a view, friendly people and good prices, Newick's is a place to try...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C Springs CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Freshest Seafood You Can Get!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There were five of us in our group and all of us thought it was great. We had the following items - 1.5 lb steamed lobster - outstanding, onion rings - outstanding, fried seafood platter - outstanding, steamed mussels - outstanding, broiled scallops - huge and outstanding, lobster roll - outstanding, broiled seafood platter - just okay. If you are looking for a sophisticated dinning experience, this place isn't for you. Plastic utensils and plastic cups with a very limited wine selectionare what you get. But the seafood is absolutely the freshest and best you can get. The prices are as good as the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COscubalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newick's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing