We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became member” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Children's Museum of New Hampshire

Children's Museum of New Hampshire
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Children's Museum of New Hampshire invites families to explore amazing creative exhibits that make learning fun. Discover dinosaurs, submarine, aerodynamics, brain waves, music, art, nature and more. Special area for babies and toddlers upstairs. Riverfront setting with playground, benches and picnic tables. Open year round with special events, classes, performances and workshops. Fall/Winter/Spring Hours: Tues-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm. Summer Hours (mid-June - Labor Day): Mon-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Became member”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My kids enjoy the interaction and there is so much to do. They run around looking and playing with all the exhibits.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank brhodylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it for little ones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my 2 and 4 year old and they loved it! As with any Children's Museum, they can touch and play with everything, including marble runs, a musical wall, kitchen area and dinosaur exploration. I love that they have a place upstairs (or up the ramp at least) specifically for babies and toddlers. Everything is very clean and well maintained, and there is a place at the front entrance for coats, bags and leaving strollers.

There's a gift shop by the entrance that is fairly reasonable for toys, games, etc. My only complaint would be that it would be nice to have a larger lunch/snack area. The vending machine has healthy snacks, but there are only 2 tables. Note for moms with strollers: the parking lot is also behind the building and you need to go up the stairs to get to the entrance, and I don't know if there's an elevator or if you just need to park in front on the main street. Overall, I would totally recommend it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank live4vacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We attended a birthday party and the children loved it. I would say it is great for children 2 to 7 years of age!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Grandkids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We took the grandkids and they loved the experience. The Submarine was their favorite. They ran from station to station. Very safe environment for them to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulaD004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for Children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fun and interesting exhibits for children of all ages. Lots of hands on activities. A nice variety, with exhibits changing periodically so there are fresh new things to see on a repeat visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of New Hampshire also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of New Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing