We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We feel at home!”

Weathervane Seafood Restaurants
Ranked #27 of 117 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We feel at home!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I have dinner at the Weathervane in Dover, NH almost every Thursday after work. We are treated very well and fed even better.Cudos to the staff for making every meal an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_Mullaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still excellent seafood and value”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

You really can't beat the value and consistency of the food at Weathervane. We had the fried clams, baked stuffed haddock and fish and chips and all were excellent, as were the onion rings. Especially nice is the option to have a smaller portion of most of the seafood items by ordering the "seafarer" meals. If you don't see somthing you want on that list (like the baked stuffed haddock), just ask. Prices were reasonable--the bill for four of us (most having the seafarer meals) was about $50. But don't expect fancy--definitely a casual restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Good for the money. Certainly not the best. We are on the New England Seacoast...there are many fantastic Seafood Restaurants especially in Portsmouth. The service is always good. The chicken fingers are delicious. I think they must have a great Senior discount because we are always the youngest ones there and we are 47.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank crash8185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The BEST Seafood You Will EVER Eat!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Weathervane has the best and freshest seafood you will ever eat!!! We stumbled upon them years ago when my husband was stationed at the Naval Shipyard. When we got transfered to the Groton Submarine Base, we would come back up for an over-night stay in Dover, and one of our meals had to be at The Weathervane. Sometimes we even had two meals there!!! We don't get back to the area as much as I would like now, but one of first stops is ALWAYS to The Weathervane!!! Do your tastebuds a huge favor and eat at The Weathervane just once. You'll be hooked for life!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MotherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, NH
2 reviews
“The best experience we had in New Hampshire, great food, fantastic service.”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We arrived in Dover and were sent to Weathervane by the staff at the visitor center. Upon arriving our family was greated, and the children were offered kids menus and a special seat by the giant fish tank. Our waitress, Jen was friendly and engaging, recommending dishes we might like, answering our questions- basically making us feel very at home. Then the food arrived- fantastic! I had the baked stuffed lobster, my husband tried the broiled haddock and sea scallops, while the children sampled a variety of fried seafood- each dish was excellent, we left full, happy and planning our next meal at the Weathervane before our trip was over!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyWents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Weathervane Seafood Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing