We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
anywhwere
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have been a resident for about 5 months, Longer than I intended or expected, but once I got to know the staff, I couldn't go anywhere else. Scott the GM and his staff are always ready and willing to address whatever you need, all you have to do is ask. Being here for so long afforded me the opportunity to get acquainted with Stacy, Patrick, Alyssa, Heather, and Adam who staff the front desk. The food service folks Wendy, Tricia, and Tiphany (sp), deliver a nice assortment of warm options for breakfast and supper. I have witnessed them scooping dough into the pastry cups for baking so the cakes are not frozen or transferred form a local doughnut shop. The housekeeping staff is a little inconsistent but unless you are for many nights, one would not notice. The business center is almost useless except for printing boarding passes. The pool area and grounds are clean, the decorations are tasteful, The dining area is kept pretty clean as well. The suite shop is stocked with necessary items and the laundry room is clean and functional.

I would definitely recommend the Homewood Dover to anyone looking for a clean consistent place to stay for business travel.

Happy Trails,

Roberto Verde

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    103
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
209
62
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Having been to Kittery for the first time in November 2011, my party of six and I needed to find a comfortable suite that could accommodate all of us. We found this hotel to be located about 20 minutes from Kittery through Priceline.com for the very affordable rate of $129 per night.

Although location wasn't all that great considering the fact that it was a detour for Canadians to cross the New Hampshire border to get to their hotel, our stay at Homewood Suites was clear, comfy and affordable. I was exactly what I was hoping to get and then some. All the needed amenities were near by and were located close to the Turnpike highway exit for easy finding.

(+) Location was easy to find and close to highway exit.
(+) Included complimentary breakfast.
(+) Staff was very friendly and made us feel comfortable

(-) Not as close to Kittery as most Canadian shoppers would hope.
(-) No vending machines are on site, only a small convenience counter with barely any supplies were available for midnight munchies :)

All in all, this was a very decent hotel that I recommend to all Trip Advisor users looking for a one-night stay in New Hampshire - Maine vicinity. That being said, you must be aware that Dover is about 20 minutes from Kittery. Personal, I would recommend backtracking to Portland for the night and staying at their Embassy Suites hotel located next to the Portland International Airport instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Excellent place, friendly staff, good food.

The staff at front desk, dinner area, BreakFast are excellent and give you feeling of being at home. Wendy, who servers food, is really nice and really makes you eat as if you were guest at her home!! Stacey at front desk is always ready to help and will go extra mile to resolve any issues.

I had a long stay due to business need...and so some of minor downside that were apparent are cleanliness in rooms, crockery they use, etc. especially they tend to ignore routine stuff when you stay longer in rooms. Equipment failures in room is rarely bothered to be fixed. Being on business trip, sometime had to work in room and found the working desk missing. No office chairs in rooms. Only point that stops me giving them Excellent rating....

Overall with nice staff around, its good!

Room Tip: Corner room was good and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodDoverNH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for not only staying with us in Dover, but also giving us your feedback. I am glad that you were happy with your stay and will look into everything you mentioned. Once again thank you, your feedback helps us to continue to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here as it was close to the court house. Can't say enough. They have one of the better breakfast buffets of most hotels. Their manager's reception during the week is a great way to save money on food. There is a nice dinner every week night as well with beer and wine. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodDoverNH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and all the future guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we have an opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We decided to get away from the city with our two kids last weekend and go somewhere with a pool. We purposely picked a business hotel because we thought it would be empty. Beware future guests, Homewood Suites books slumber parties on the weekends. The hotel is not well built and when groups of 10 kids run up and down the hallways together, whether or not its on your floor, the entire hotel shakes. And there's no way that a slumber party of girls can share the pool comfortably with my 6 year old. The capacity of the pool area is 25, but it should be 12. The pool is TINY and with 10 energetic kids cannon-balling into it under the supervision of one parent, its not safe for anyone. It smelled horribly of chlorine too. I couldn't hardly breath in the pool room. This all was a true disappointment for us. I don't think this hotel was ever meant for tons of kids, and by hosting slumber parties on the weekend it takes away relaxation from other guests. We paid $190 to stay in a room in Dover, NH. Near nothing. That felt like a lot. And we got so little for it. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodDoverNH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. I can personally assure you that we do not "allow" parties in our suites and apologize that one was booked without us knowing about it. We have a Manager on Duty 24 hours a day that can be reached at the front desk. We would have dealt with any inconvenience another guest or guests may have caused in regards to noise or horseplay in the pool area. I am truly sorry that you were inconvenienced and hope you'll give us a chance to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe nc
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Friendly group with Scott the Manager and Stacey, they bring your stay from just another Hotel to a place that makes you feel like your at home. I always look forward to returning and seeing some friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodDoverNH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Bob, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for the hotel. We love having you stay with us. We can't wait to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Another quality Hilton property..... I need not say more.

Great staff on the front desk and dining area as well !!

Pet friendly is a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedTravelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodDoverNH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback. We will look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 6 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
11.8 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
Address: 21 Members Way, Dover, NH 03820-5919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dover
#2 Family Hotel in Dover
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dover Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing