We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and welcoming retreat”
Review of Darby Field Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darby Field Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Arrived late at night, and our room was toasty warm on a very cold night. Bed was firm just as we like it. Room was clean and pretty. Best part of our stay - the fire in the lviing room was fabulous, a perfect place to read and sip wine. Breakfast was excellent - and dinner was good though not quite as wonderful. Service was excellent too. This really feels like you are away from the North Conway commercialism, and just out in the woods at a very relaxing and comfortable inn.
We did not have time to sample the trails but the location suggests that they would be simalary quiet and woodsy. No phones in the standard rooms or TVs, which was very nice. The owner makes a point of meeting the guests, and being around, which means he knows what is going on and assures the servie is good and the inn is well maintained. The staff were very friendly without being intrusive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

From the moment we received a warm hello from Juanita, 'til the moment we left the Darby Field Inn, our stay was entirely pleasurable. Each staff member, as well as the innkeeper, goes out of his or her way to make sure you are satisfied.

The hotel is a nice, old structure, the rooms are comfortable, the grounds are pretty, and the views are stunning.

We missed out on the sleigh rides, but we heard they are very nice.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank arecibo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

It is a fantastic location and so quiet with stunning views across the mountains but that was sadly where the joy of our visit ended. Even though they knew it was a part of our honeymoon trip we were shown to a small, dingy room with a 4'6" bed (not the 5' queen size bed we had booked) at the end of the corridor on the top floor which was cold on account of the heating not working. Admittedly the engineer was working on the problem when we were arrived but the plug in heater stashed in the cupboard had not been plugged in prior to our pre-booked arrival. The light fittings had broken glass and the paint was peeling. The manager told us the next morninghe had been too angry (about the heating) to speak to us about our room. Although Marc apologised in the morning he told us no better rooms were available, even though neither the breakfast room nor car park were anywhere like full. We left after an utterly miserable night and found solace somewhere else. What a shame. It was utterley depressing as we had such great hopes for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed in colorful New Hampshire at the Darby Field, the BEST!
I wanted remote, and boy did I get remote. Tucked away in the forest, the Darby Field puts you right in the middle of the fall color! The views of the mountains are spectacular, and they are right outside the dining room's large windows. The rooms are very tastefully decorated in what I would call Williamsburg style. Ours was on the third floor complete with fireplace, steam shower, love seat, and door to deck overlooking the mountains. It could not have been more perfect! The dining room overlooked the same great views. The inn has a large gathering room with a huge stone fireplace. How cozy! There is a bar also, very convenient for a nightcap and chats with other guests about their day's adventures. Marc is the perfect host. When we arrived, we were not sure about the remote road we were on so I called. He went out of his way to reassure that we were ok and the inn was just around the corner, and it was. Juanita is a gem! She laid out a perfect trip for us to experience the White Mountains. Actually, the entire staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast? WOW! One morning we had a baked apple pancake of some kind with a rich sauce that was to die for! The grounds are huge with assorted chairs placed to appreciate that "view". You never really know when you book a place that you have not been to before, but this one far exceeded our expectations! Thank you Marc and Juanita, and the rest of the staff! I recommend this inn without hesitation and would go back in a heartbeat! Oh, did I say we LOVED IT?

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 59chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We had a fantastic stay in the Darby Field. The staff were outstandingly helpful. Carol helped plan our walks and there was even input from Joe, the chef (a keen walker). We were given help by the waitress at breakfast on looking for a particular store in a mall on the way home - she searched the internet to find the information which was invaluable. Wanita was a ray of sunshine every morning. Marc (the owner) was great chat and helped plan car routes to view the spendid foliage. He also can conduct weddings and there were three happy couples taking their vows whilst we were staying.

A beautiful inn with outstanding views - particularly from the restaurant windows. Food was all homecooked and wonderful. There were even complimentary fresh baked cookies served with coffee in the lounge every afternoon.

I am sure that any visitors will be similarly impressed with their stay.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank mmccutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We had a great time in the mountains of New Hampshire. It was quiet and beautiful. Our room had a great view and a little fake fireplace that made it very cosy. Great wifi access and a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnnaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We felt very fortunate that we found the Darby Field Inn website, which allowed us to book our New England summer weekend with them. We were unfamiliar with the area but, as it turned out, we felt we ended up with the best of both worlds - terrific accomodations and great value.

We stayed at the Inn for our entire week-end, other than the trip to Conway to pick up a couple of bathing suits so that we could take advantage of the tranquil swimming pool. We also spent some time hiking the trails on the property and look forward to exploring the nearby national forest on our next trip.

We had dinner in the Inn's dining room and our dinner exceeded our expectations - as did the complementary breakfast.

We wouldn't do anything different on our next trip - except book another season to expand our enjoyment of the area.

Thanks Marc and Maria for a terrific experience. We commend you and the staff for working so hard to please your guests.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Usmoscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
3.7 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.4 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#19 of 30 in Conway
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#11 of 21 in North Conway
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
11.3 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Field Inn

Address: 185 Chase Hill Rd, Conway, NH 03818-7221
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Conway
Price Range: $124 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darby Field Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic White Mountain country inn is the perfect resting spot for visitors of all kinds: hikers, shoppers, bicyclers, and skiers. We offer something for everyone: On-site restaurant, tavern, wooded snowshoe/walking trails, flower gardens, seasonal outdoor pool, WIFI, spectacular views and massage services. The Inn's intimate setting is perfect for small weddings and family reunions, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Darby Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby Field Hotel Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing