We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the New Hamshire Woods”
Review of Darby Field Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darby Field Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem in the New Hamshire Woods”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Darby Field Inn and I, normally a critical reviewer, can think of only good things to say. The location is lovely with views of the White Mountains. The rooms are very nice. We stayed in one of the smallest but got to peek in some of the others. The staff are friendly and attentive and there is a relaxed atmosphere whether you are lounging in the back surrounded by butterflies, in the restaurant (more on that below) or in the lounge or tavern.

My wife felt the bed was not the best, I liked it.

The restaurant is high quality either breakfast or dinner. The dinner menu is a bit limited in choice but has enough "spread" to satisfy most people. The wine list is good and reasonably priced.

This is a high end place, and the prices reflect it, but if you want to be near North Conway and want something many steps above a motel and away from the noise and traffic you cannot do better than the Darby Field Inn. I expect to return in the Fall and relax some more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay! My staff appreciates your kind words and I appreciate your continued patronage. Hope to see you this fall!

Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    28
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
153
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I loved the inn. The staff were really nice. The food is awesome. However, the bed is so so so so uncomfortable. It is really old, sloped to one side, and wiggles if anyone moves. My spouse slept on the floor. I feel bad saying that because generally the inn was awesome but really, inns are mainly for sleeping.

Room Tip: Maybe the other beds are better. We were room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwillbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I wish I had known while you were here! I went upstairs to inspect the bed in #15 and tightened some loose screws to set the frame right. I am pleased you enjoyed your awake hours, and hope you will return to enjoy the staff and food again, and to make some new memories in a different room!
Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I cannot say enough about the Darby Field Inn or it's exceptional staff. They made our wedding day so special and wonderful. Marc and his staff, Carol, Alan and anyone who's name we forgot, went above and beyond for us each and every time. Our room was spotless and beautiful, the view was unforgettable and I really can see myself coming back to the inn time and time again.

The hummingbirds were a real riot each and every morning, and the staff must have thought I was crazy since I've never seen hummingbirds up close before but they were really nice about it. :) This is a great establishment with wonderful hospitality and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I never tire of our wonderful guests and their wonderful reviews! Glad your wedding day was all you hoped for...and hummingbird fascination is nothing new to us here at the inn; we are still captivated by them, even after over 30 years!

I look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!

Best wishes, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Darby Field Inn. Marc, the innkeeper is very nice and Carol is a hoot. We stayed in room 5, a corner room with a great view of the mountains. It's not a large room, but we were not in there very long. One morning a black bear came out of the woods, looked at us having coffee on the patio, and continued on his walk. Carol is the morning hostess and is so personable. Both Marc and Carol are great for dinner recommendations. We did have dinner at the Darby on Thursday night, fantastic. Marc was very accommodating when we realized that we were going to be late for our dinner reservation. I can't wait to go back in the winter for snow shoeing.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions of each type of room, some have air conditioning and others just have paddle f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We look forward for a winter visit from you!!! Carol says "Thank you, thank you, thank you!" We'll keep your favorite breakfast table ready for you...

Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston,CT
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a really nice time. The staff was friendly and helpful The room was comfortable and the food was great. The Darby Field Inn was a bit off the beaten path, but that worked well for us. The views were very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhgWeston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I'm pleased you had a nice time while you were here! We are off the beaten path, but only a few minutes from town. Come back and stay in the winter for some snowshoeing and hot chocolate? I think you'll LOVE it!

Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to New Hampshire for the weekend to attend a wedding. I foubd the Darby Field Inn online. The pictures made the place look like a post card so we gave it a try. We loved it! It was just what you'd expect a New England B&B to be. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were good and so was dinner we had. The Inn was very clean. Now this is not a super modern hotel, it's an old farm house that has been made into an Inn, but that's part of the charm. The modern amenities are there of course, but the grounds at the Inn are so beautiful we never actually turned on the television in our room. We even had a steam shower and fire place in ours! We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Every season has its own beauty, but the grounds are at their most beautiful in the summer! The gardens are incredible, the hummingbirds are whizzing around like bees, and the pool is SO refreshing on those hot and humid days.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time here...come back for some relaxing time by the pool...
Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's a perfect mix of old fashioned bed and breakfast and modern relaxation. The place is comfortably furnished in a traditional fashion, and you expect to run into Sinatra in the sitting room. The staff is happy and helpful. The food is like you'd find in Manhattan.

If you're a runner or hiker, it's in the center of great mountain runs and hikes. It's like having your own home hidden in the White Mountains

Room Tip: Go to the third floor for the views and the great balcony s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am pleased you felt at home here...it is our goal!
Samuel's Room is my favorite room, too.
Give us a call when you're ready to return for some more fun in the Whites...
Warm regards, Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
10.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#21 of 30 in Conway
79 reviews
2.6 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
203 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Field Inn

Property: Darby Field Inn
Address: 185 Chase Hill Rd, Conway, NH 03818-7221
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Darby Field Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic White Mountain country inn is the perfect resting spot for visitors of all kinds: hikers, shoppers, bicyclers, and skiers. We offer something for everyone: On-site restaurant, tavern, wooded snowshoe/walking trails, flower gardens, seasonal outdoor pool, WIFI, spectacular views, and massage services. The Inn's intimate setting is perfect for small weddings and family reunions, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Darby Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby Field Hotel Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing