We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Darby Field Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darby Field Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Darby Field Inn was and is everything that we have been looking for. Small enough for the individual feel, but big enough to have the privacy that we look for.
We have been to many Inns in the White Mountain area and not one compares to the hospitality of Marc and his staff. From the minute we walked in the door to the second we left there was never any question about the sincerity and friendliness of Darby Field Inn.
The food is wonderful and very well presented. Our room was very comfortable and even though we were not able to obtain one of the "rooms with a view" ours was beautiful. With our sitting area and our own private entrance we could not have asked for more!
We have found our new home away from home. Rick and Deb A.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well presented and all have their own "special" touch. The steam s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickDebA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

It is always GREAT to know you're doing something right! I am happy you have found your new "home away from home!" I will share this with my staff! We look forward to your next visit...
Happy New Year -Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

So happy with our experience at the Darby Field Inn. The views are wonderful, the staff were so pleasant and friendly, and the food was delicious. The room was so comfortable, as was the sitting area down stairs. I am so glad my husband and I picked this location to celebrate our anniversary. Next year I would like to stay again, and participate in the cookie tour. Thanks again Mark and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

I'm pleased you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us! A lot of our guests enjoy the sitting area, too - we actually have couples that return at the same time after meeting here! The Inn-to-Inn Cookie Tour would be a great addition to your anniversary celebration for 2013, especially if you LOVE sweets and Christmas decorations. I look forward to seeing you this year!
Warm regards,
Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The quintessential New England inn experience. Excellent rooms, fabulous restaurant (I recommend the braised duck or filet mignon), with hiking, skiing, and swimming galore. One of my favorite aspect of the Darby was its tavern - fully stocked with a bar staff that's happy to make anything and everything you might desire. Top notch. Will surely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay...the tavern is my favorite, too (well, tied with the pool!). Thank you for sharing the great pictures! Look forward to welcoming you back SOON!?

Warm regards, Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Darby Field Inn has everything the New Hampshire White Mountains area is all about, great views, perfect ambiance, friendly staff, great service and good food. My wife and I loved our stay in every way and will be back for sure. We felt so comfortable and relaxed. We were close to everything, right off the Kancamagus Highway in the National Park and just up the road from North Conway attractions. Thank you Marc and staff for a great vacation. Paul & Lori Drucker

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaupD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

This is a lovely area, as you must know since you are our new "neighbors!" We still look forward to seeing you for dinner or a few drinks in the tavern! ;-)

Warm regards, Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The setting and location of this inn were very good as was the service,but the rooms were terrible. The inn was located just off the scenic Kancamagus Highway and the setting was very picturesque in the fall. We had high hopes on arrival and were greeted by Carol who was very friendly. I am afraid that was the end of the plus points. The room was very poor and the whole inn was in desperate need of an update. The furniture,fittings,fabrics and bathrooms were very dated and old fashioned. The linens and towels were also poor and old. On settling in our room we could hear a strange noise which we soon detected was someone snoring in the next room. The walls were paper thin so much so you could not only hear the person next door on the phone you could hear the person on the other end of the phone!
The whole place was shabby and tired and in need of a makeover. Given the location,setting and staff this could be a great place but given the state of the rooms it is not.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you, Garrywb - I appreciate your input on your stay here this fall. I regret that the Inn wasn’t what you expected and that you will not choose to stay here in the future. The Darby Field Inn is a four season country inn that offers gorgeous views, an onsite restaurant and tavern, spa services, beautiful flower gardens, wooded trails, seasonal swimming pool and friendly, knowledgeable staff. It is neither a luxury resort, nor a modern getaway; it is a renovated 1826 farmhouse. With a property this size, it is impossible to renovate to keep up with hospitality trends or top of the line accessories. I make updates where and when possible, but always aim at retaining the rustic atmosphere that celebrates the history of this house and the area. Most of our guests do enjoy their time here, and many return time and time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Darby Field Inn is a fantastic hidden gem. It was a last minute trip and was everything and more than we could have imagined. The staff was fantastic as was every meal that we had there. We enjoyed walking the grounds and exploring the trails out back. The views from the room were fantastic and everywhere from the grounds to the room were spotless. We will definitely return often. Two thumbs up, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed and dined at the Darby Field Inn years ago, so we drove up from Meredith about 40 miles where we were staying for our 43rd anniversary. Nice quiet, romantic setting. I remebered the roast duck cooked in raspberry sauce from a visit years ago and have longed to return. The duck is still on the menu but its just plain roasted with a ramaken of raspberry dipping sauce. Sorry to say it just isn't the same. Disappointed. Other than that it was a great night. Its a bit hard to find in Ashland, NH.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperDFI, Owner at Darby Field Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I am pleased you remembered the roast duckling and chose to celebrate your anniversary here for another memorable evening. Due to frequent customer requests for crispier skin, we stopped roasting the duckling in raspberry sauce several years ago – the sauce is now served on the side so guests may use it as desired. For future reference, our chef would definitely prepare it as you remember it…just let us know when you make your reservation. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your special evening and look forward to seeing you here again for raspberry roasted duckling!
Sincerely,
Marc Donaldson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conway hotels
3.7 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,434 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.4 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#20 of 30 in Conway
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#11 of 21 in North Conway
241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
245 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Field Inn

Address: 185 Chase Hill Rd, Conway, NH 03818-7221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Conway
Price Range: $124 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darby Field Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic White Mountain country inn is the perfect resting spot for visitors of all kinds: hikers, shoppers, bicyclers, and skiers. We offer something for everyone: On-site restaurant, tavern, wooded snowshoe/walking trails, flower gardens, seasonal outdoor pool, WIFI, spectacular views and massage services. The Inn's intimate setting is perfect for small weddings and family reunions, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Darby Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby Field Hotel Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing