We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our fav nature/swimming spots!”

Ranked #10 of 57 things to do in Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“One of our fav nature/swimming spots!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Echo Lake has a lot going for it, which is why we return each year and enjoy introducing friends to it as well. From June--September, the swimming is fine. Water couldn't be considered warm, but comfortably refreshing. The lake is sandy-bottomed and there is a nicely maintained sandy beach area as well. It's a great place to picnic, as there are tables in an adjacent shaded area. Also, you have the perfect opportunity for an after-meal walk, as there is a perimeter trail around the lake. Best of all, you often will have a fascinating opportunity to watch rock climbers on the ledge at the far side of the lake. It's a great package of natural awesomeness! Hope you find my review to be helpful and that you get to enjoy this lovely little getaway:)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmk415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great escape place”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

great and recommended place to spend few hours ($4 adult and $2 kids, age 6-11)
it has great sand beach, with life guards, surrounded by amazing view of mountains, trees, rocks.
the water are cold but you get use them very fast.
i think kids in general will love this place (mine did). there is no shade there so bring sunshade.

you can also rent for $20/hour - pedal boat for 2 or 4, canoe and kayak.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank theCitizen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for the little ones”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were supposed to go to Echo Lake for one day of our vacation to give our grandson some play time, it was so nice we spent 3 days there. At $4 per adult per day it was a real bargain. The beach and water are very clean, and amazingly warm. The water is quite shallow so the little ones can go "out far" but still be in shallow water. The lake bottom was sandy. There are lifeguards and floatation devices such as tubes are allowed. The picnic area is also well maintained and very clean. It is a carry in/carry out facility, so make sure you bring something to carry your trash out. There are changing and bathroom facilities. Also there is a walking trail around the lake that even our 4 year old was able to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ggdeluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This lake is a great place to swim and just relax. Beautiful view, clean lake. Can get a bit crowded but still very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It was certainly pretty but it was Crowded!!! No one mentioned this so we were surprised to see all the people and two open parking spaces. The overlook is nice and we hiked up to White Horse ledge. It was a pretty intense hike (and we hiked Mt. Washington a few days before). A tree fee across the path before we hiked down. Beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echo Lake State Park also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Echo Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing