We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day-beach”

Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family day-beach”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lake was clean & warm. Perfect for families, especially those with young children because the swimming area doesn't get too deep.
There's a lifeguard on duty.
In the trees there are hibachi bbq's - so bring charcoal and have a bbq!
There are trails around the lake, which we didn't do because they're not stroller friendly, but we will definitely try once our 2 yr old gets bigger.
Highly recommend for a day-trip. Include a drive up to Cathedral Ledge before going to the park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    40
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect family spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a nice "beach" day in North Conway, this is a great choice. Sandy, safe, shallow lake's edge, with outstanding view of the mountains and rock face ledges. It's only about 2 miles from the center of North Conway. Plenty of lake front shore, picnic tables in the shade, and a lifeguard on duty. Restroom available also. It was $4 for adults and $2 for children 6-11 to enter and park. Definitely a great place to visit, lounge and swim.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boston25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot on a hot day!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Echo Lake was a beautiful place to spend our Saturday afternoon. $4 for each adult, our 2 year old was free. It was an easy walk to the lake from the parking area. There were restrooms, though I didn't use them so I can't comment.
There was plenty of shaded space to put up chairs & blankets, and there were many picnic tables available, and even some grills (BYO charcoal). There was also a nice sandy beach. The water was crystal clear with a nice easy slope and the entire swimming area was sandy. And the views were truly spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jens05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed beach on the lake with fab views”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

How picturesque is this? We swam in this cold-but-not-unbearibly-so lake surrounded by forested mountains. The sun was shining and everything felt right with the world--- a little oasis of beauty and calm. Highly recommend. Toilet and changing facilities behind beach and large car park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HaskelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love Echo Lake !”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Bring food for a great cookout and make sure to have your swimming suits. The view of the ledges are awesome. It is a hidden treasure in the North Conway Area ! Restful and relaxing this little park is great for kids and couples. you can walk a short trail that goes all around the lake. I think it is a great little lake for kayaks and canoes as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echo Lake State Park also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Echo Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing