We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Mountains Hostel
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Conway
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I needed a convenient place to sleep, easy to reach after work in Boston, but close to the mountains for an early hiking meetup. This fit my need perfectly. A comfortable dorm-style bed. A clean and serviceable bathroom. A comfortable common area with wifi and tv. Facilities for cooking if I had needed. A reasonable price. And half and hour to Pinkham Notch. Much more civilized than beginning a hiking weekend with a 4:30 a.m. departure from Boston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your response and I hope to see you come back again. The hostel is under brand new ownership/management starting this month. We are very excited to be sprucing up the hostel and making your stay even better.

Best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The driveway was hazardous with a thick coating of ice and no sand on it. Rooms were overheated. Otherwise, fine as usual. Convenient location for hiking in the White Mountains. I feelt he hostel has slipped since it left Hostelling International, but I would still stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandychan147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for reviewing the hostel. I agree the driveway should have been in better shape. Just to let you know I am the new owner and operator of the hostel , just got here a couple days ago, and I actually used to be the regional director of this hostel when it was a Hostelling International Hostel. I am pretty sore from having chopped a lot of ice the past two days here to try and make things a bit better. I think the warm weather over the weekend will help a lot. I plan to work very hard to earn back a higher rating. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend during the Mount Washington Valley Ice Fest and I had a great time. The hostel was clean, offered a BIG kitchen with two of everything (stoves, sinks etc.), plenty of bathrooms and showers and friendly staff. It was pretty full for several nights but everyone was pretty easy going and respectful.

Room Tip: Pick a room farthest from the stairs, they are a bit creaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VTCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The rooms are clean. We stayed on a Friday night, and it was quiet. The kitchen is fully stocked to cook or make tea/hot chocolate in the morning. I will definitely stay here again in the future. excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ellie00110011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights to hike Mt Washington and Chocorua in the vicinity. Its the only hostel around, and totally worth it. Very clean (esp. for hostel standards), staff is friendly and very accommodating. Go out of their way to make you comfortable. Short drive to North Conway - location not a problem at all if you have a car. I thought Conway was much nicer (quaint, whereas conway is touristy) anyway.

The hostel is super well equipped with clean and stocked bathrooms, and kitchen facilities to cook until your heart's content. Hot showers welcomed after a long day of hiking, beds typical hostel-style, but comfortable. Window A/C in rooms works great.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2-night stay here on a recent road trip through northern New England. We took a small private room on the first floor, with shared bathroom right outside the door. The hostel was clean and we found the location to be convenient. A river beach area and two covered bridges were within walking distance. The common kitchen was well stocked and we cooked lobsters (Northland Lobster Co.) and bbq'ed also. We used the picnic table outside, and picked fresh herbs from the garden. As always, it's fun to meet people from all over the world when hostelling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is actually now called the "White Mountains Hostel" - don't know when it changed from being an HI hostel. What a bargain! For LESS money than a campsite, I had a comfortable bed, a clean, modern bathroom and hot shower, a full kitchen and living room with cable TV and comfy couches. Convenient to everything - perfect for my weekend of hiking near the Kanc. The place was immaculate and Cindy is a lovely hostess. Because I was there during the low season, I had a room to myself and there were only 4 other people at the hostel - but even if it had been full, the rooms are spacious, with lockers and chairs for belongings. Great find!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conway hotels
6.3 mi away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#24 of 25 in North Conway
112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.6 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountains Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountains Hostel

Address: 36 Washington St, Conway, NH 03818-6042 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Conway
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Mountains Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel has 5 bunk rooms with 28 beds and 5 private rooms. There is big common kitchen and common dinning and meeting area. The hostel is super clean and friendly place to stay. We specialize in groups of 15-40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your White Mountains Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing