We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had an amazing experience at this hotel, after stumbling upon this hotel online last minute. Hotel and rooms look exactly as pictured online, which I was plesantly suprised with. It is an old building that has been completely modernized and updated inside. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The room was very modern and clean and the bathroom was beautiful. Had a room in the upper corner, that was tucked away and was very quiet. I never even heard another guest during our one night stay. Each room has 2 bathrobs, a flat screen TV with DVD player and a refrigerator. Bed was exremely comfortable with plenty of pillows and extra blankets. Room service was spectacular, we had dessert and wine delievered to the room, along with welcome cookies when we arrived. The bartender was extremely friendly and we had a blast socializng with some the "locals." The food looked amazing, althougth we ate at a pizzeria in town. Not much to do in Concord, but it was a nice stop on the way to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Centennial. I really enjoy hearing from folks that "stumble" upon us and are absolutely thrilled with thier stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful opportunity to enjoy all of the "surprise and delights" that Centennial has to offer. We also own several other properties in the NH area to include The Wolfeboro Inn, The Exeter Inn and newly acquired, Eagle Mountain House in Jackson, NH. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Centennial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great king size room, very spacious and nicely decorated. Our room had a shower with a glass door . We had dinner in the hotel and the food was very good. The desserts were excellent. My daughter went to the fitness room but was disappointed with the set up. She mentioned that there was a dirty mat on the floor and some of the equipment was out of order such as the treadmill.

Room Tip: The fitness room needs a lift
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank int2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Centennial! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comments in regards to our workout room. Keeping the equipment in good working condition is very important to our guests. I will check into this immediately. Thanks again and we hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We needed to stay in Concord for just one night and the Centennial was a great find for us. We had a King Turret room, it was very spacious and had a fabulous porch that was huge. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great night sleep. We had dinner as well and it was excellent. The food and the service were both wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay at The Centennial. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son attends school near Concord, and we discovered the Centenniel while looking for a place to stay to visit him. We've stayed there three times this year. The decor is modern and lovely, and the rooms spacious and inviting. The sophistication of this hotel is an unexpected pleasure given the sparsity of such lodging in this region. Perhaps what we enjoy most is the hospitality. The staff recognizes us each time and greets us warmly. When my daughter left her stuffed animal on our first visit, it arrived in the mail in a package adorably labeled with fun notes from the staff. On other occasions, the staff has gone out of its way to accommodate our requests. The kids love the warm cookies and the breakfast menu. I love the warm beverages in the lobby in winter, and cold beverages in summer. We drive a long way to visit our son, and arriving at The Centenniel is welcome relief and luxury. Getting all of this for under $200 a night is truly unbelievable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makingheadlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visits with us here at the Centennial. The hotel is very unique in that it is a Victorian Era property with modern conveniences. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your past three stays with us. We are very fortunate to have such a friendly, outgoing, professional staff here. I am also happy to hear that you have had a chance to enjoy the Granite Restaurant. Our Chef and his staff are truly creative. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although this hotel is in downtown Cocord and has historic charm, that's about all the hotel has to offer. This is the second time i have stayed in this hotel since it's been renovated and this was the worst of the two. The first trip was a few years ago when they were just starting the process i believe and it was a lot nicer all the way around.The rooms are updated and charming but it also appeared my room hadn't been cleaned in quite some time (3 floor) this go around. The window seals were caked with dust as were the blinds and you could pretty much write your name in the dust on the night stands/lamps. The AC also seemed to be out when i was there and the only excuse the hotel had was since it's an old hotel, the hot summer is preventing the AC from working properly. If you could spend the money to update the hotel, why not update the AC system. It was 80+ degrees in my room at 10pm night when trying to go to sleep; it was very uncomfortable. There is a great restaurant though in the hotel but it's expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler4Bizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us at the Centennial. We welcome guest comments because it helps us to become better at what we do and the the services we provide. Late last week, the hotel experienced issues with an air conditioner compressor which caused temperture fluxuation in some of the overnight rooms. Parts for the unit had to be ordered, which delayed the repair. The staff did everything within their power to resolve the issue by providing AC window units, fans, etc. I do apologize for this inconvience. We hope that you visit us again in the future. Again, thank you for feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Loved the hotel soo much the first time we stayed there that we booked the room a year in advance . The hotel is lovely , rooms are charming but the staff was so unnecessarily rude and flagrantly unhelpful. It s a shame bcause what was such a lovely experience the first time based on our last stay we would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write in regards to your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful historic hotel so close to downtown Concord. I am disappointed to hear that you felt our staff was not helpful. We pride ourselves on providing the absolute best customer service at all times to our guests. We were just recently awarded the "Certificate of Excellence" from Trip Advisor. Our hope is that you come back and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My cousin and I meet for art weekends,visiting museums, and then finding an interesting b&b or inn for a night. We were lucky last weekend to have found ahead time on Travelocity, The Centennial in Concord . As seen in the photos it is a large Victorian building(rumored to have been built to house widows of Civil War soldiers). It has been very stylishly renovated recently with elevators added. The art work and decor is gallery-quality not the usual faded hotel reproduction. There are fluffy terry robes and slippers on the beds, yummy home-baked cookies on the bedstands, and more kinds of pillows on each of the comfy beds than one could possibly use so you'll be sure to find your perfect one. Our room had a desk with real desk chair, easy chair and hassock, art and tourist magazines, flat-screen TV, and a big closet in an entryway. With the pedestal sinks, tiled walk-in showers, and loads of thick white towels the bathrooms are very nice. We were thrilled with the quality of the food in Granite,the restaurant, ordered the half-dishes for dinner that were just right, presented attractively, and just delicious and healthy too. We returned for breakfast...where they managed to turn my regular of scrabbled eggs and homefries into a gourmet delight and even priced reasonably. I wish I lived closer to the restaurant. I would be a regular. In the area I was delighted by The Currier Art Museum in Manchester. I am an art professor and found the quality and variety most impressive and well-presented. Reserve ahead and for $20 visit both the museum and take the guided tour of the Frank lloyd Wright-designed Zimmerman house. The cafe is exceptional with daily chef creations....he cheerfully runs the cash register too. After the house tour the cafe was closed early for a wedding so we found on Elm Street a grand opening of a French pastisserie.....look for the sign with the Eiffel Tower. Mill Brook Gallery near Concord is worth the visit, run by RISD-grad, wonderful painter Pam Tarbell......lots of outdoor sculpture and indoor 2-D and 3-D.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedarsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Concord hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#2 of 8 in Concord
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Concord
Courtyard Concord
#5 of 8 in Concord
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Concord
Fairfield Inn Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Address: 96 Pleasant St, Concord, NH 03301-3831
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: $147 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centennial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 32 spacious guestrooms, each unique with the architectural distinctions found only in vintage buildings of the Victorian era; like third floor guestrooms with amazingly idiosyncratic ceiling lines, suites with lounges built into the twin turrets that provide the hotel its iconic presence, private porches and much more. Surprising touches can be found throughout, such as terry bathrobes, slippers and a special turndown that changes every evening of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing