We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to love this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centennial Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My daughter will be going to school in the area for the next 4 years and I was excited to find a boutique hotel amongst all the Courtyards and Fairfields. The website looked great, rate was reasonable and I was excited.

When we approached the front desk, the clerk couldn't have been less interested in us. No smile, no welcome. "Name?". "Here are your keys - your room's over there" - points across the lobby. Hmmm. Small town NH - can you really be this jaded?

For some reason we were given an ADA room, no biggie. A room just off the lobby, across from an office with a door open where we could see someone working. A beautiful view of the parking lot. The hotel did not seem full but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt that this was the best room available.

The beds are NOT pillowtops and not especially comfortable. The base that the bed is on is metal and flush with the edge of the bed so everyone kept bumping their toes on it.

The room was nicely decorated, the details charming, the bathroom huge and definitely big enough for a wheelchair. The shower chair made us feel like we were in an old age home or hospital but hey.

There is coffee by the front desk in the am. I went out to grab a cup for me and my husband. I met another woman there who advised me to avoid the "hot" water as it was cold. A clerk approached the front desk at that moment and definitely heard her but didn't acknowledge either of us. Didn't make eye contact, did not offer to get hot water and certainly didn't wish us good morning.

We'll be looking elsewhere for our go-to Concord area hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    82
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
65
132
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strafford, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Centennial was a great location. First impression was good. But on closer inspection, the room seemed to have never been cleaned thoroughly. Vents were so thick with dust. All furniture veneer was broken. I was SHOCKED by a broken outlet and the blinds were dusty and so broken we couldn't pull them up.

Also there was an eyelash in my companions breakfast.

When all this was brought to managements attention, it was shrugged off.

Never again will we stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, whether it be negative or positive, it helps us to become better at what we do and the service we provide to our guests. I am very disappointed that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay, especially as they related to your guest room. When you approached the desk with your concerns I immediately brought the housekeeping supervisor and maintenance supervisor with me to your room to look into your comments/concerns. When I came back to the desk, you had checked-out. I instructed our front desk associate to make an adjustment your bill. Your comments were shared with our team as a reminder that there are always improvements we can make when it comes to service. Again, I a want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and hope you will reconsider a future visit with us when in the Concord area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel really exceeded all our expectations. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated in a trendy style. The staff were extremely helpful especially the gentleman with glasses who worked on reception in the evenings. He took the time to share with us his favourite spots in Concord and made us feel really welcome. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious. The best we had in America, and actually the best we've had in a long time. As we stayed there a while the chef even came out to meet us and presented us with a special dish he had made for us. There's also quite a bit to do in the area, ranging from a space museum to the Shaker village to skiing.

The only thing that could be improved upon would be to have tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. However, a really nice touch was that you could get a complimentary coffee or tea to take out at reception as you left in the morning.

We really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Booked this hotel literally driving to White Mountains on a very last minute decision to go hiking for the weekend. Best decision. Previous reviews say it all. Staff is so welcoming and friendly as if you have been coming for years. Plan to spread the word to our family and friends in RI. You won't be disappointed.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel! I am so thrilled to hear that you booked your stay at the last minute and had such a great experience with us. We hope you have an opportunity to come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

i stayed at the centennial inn for 4 nights when i was in concord for work. it is very close to the federal courthouse and also to town. the rooms were very big and modern and clean. bed was super comfy. and the small workout room was great for getting in some exercise in the cold weather.
the front desk and housekeeping staff was always super friendly and helpful.
the Granite restaurant is the best in town - as a new yorker, I am generally very tough on non-new york food, but these guys know what they are doing. bruce, the talented sous chef was accessible and offered great recommendations. the bar is also one of the more happening bars in concord - with a truly excellent wine list and good selection of beers and a super bartender named crawford who takes great care of his patrons, who were a mix of out of towners and locals, i was very happy and comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toaster724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Centennial Hotel for your recent stay in the Concord area. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us from the room size, our bedding package, workout room, staff (front desk, housekeeping & servers), and our popular restaurant, Granite. Our goal at the Centennial and Granite is to "delight and surprise" our guests during every moment of their stay. It sounds as though we did just that. We truly hope you have an opportunity to come visit us again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Centennial where they mix the old with the new. It is an old building with lots of character and charm updated with the best in contemporary fixtures. The nice little touches included nightly turn down service with a wonderful treat to end your day, wonderful plush complimentary slippers and robes, and the front desk service was outstanding. And if all of this wasn't enough The Granite Restaurant and Bar is simply amazing. Food was exceptional and I loved the ability to order smaller portions, waitstaff professional but approachable, bar was quite the hub the nights were were there. Locals stop in on their way home from work. Elegant yet comfortable.

Room Tip: Each room is different in shape and size but a room in the front of the hotel offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write in regards to your recent stay with us. Our hotel is extremely unique and I am pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to experience it. We are so thrilled to offer our guests amenities that truly "delight and surprise". I was excited to hear that you had a chance to dine in Granite. We are very lucky to have such a fine restaurant inside this hotel. I hope you have a chance to come back and visit us again in the future. I will share your comments with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel mixes old with contemporary. The rooms are all well decorated with contemporary design. I heard the restaurant was good, but we went with another this night. The day shift front desk personnel was great. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdt143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Concord hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Concord Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#7 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Concord
Courtyard Concord
#5 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Concord
Fairfield Inn Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Property: Centennial Hotel
Address: 96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centennial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 32 spacious guestrooms, each unique with the architectural distinctions found only in vintage buildings of the Victorian era; like third floor guestrooms with amazingly idiosyncratic ceiling lines, suites with lounges built into the twin turrets that provide the hotel its iconic presence, private porches and much more. Surprising touches can be found throughout, such as terry bathrobes, slippers and a special turndown that changes every evening of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Concord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing