We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with BAD experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Booked hotel through hotwire. It was great. Ate at the restaurant and enjoyed it. Beds were very comfortable, and room was clean. Desk staff was very nice. HOWEVER, for the first time ever in my life, I left something behind at the hotel. I was traveling with 3 other family members and one of them had reminded me to get my earrings off the stand. I put it in the back of my mind but I somehow forgot. I called the hotel about 45 minutes after we left and asked them to set the earrings aside and I would arrange to get them mailed the next day. She explained that housekeeping had left which I found odd as it was early afternoon. Perhaps she meant the manager. I was told I would get a call in the am in which I did and ........no earrings found. I spoke to the head of housekeeping and said "perhaps they got wiped onto the floor and maybe someone could re-look" knowing that this could give a chance to the person who stole them. I was again told they were not found. I asked to speak to management as I and others knew they were left there. They were diamond chip dangles given to me by my grandmother. I was told someone would call me the next day and no one did. I got nowhere. Nightmare! I will never come here due to the poor customer service of the staff in how they handled a complaint and for housekeeping for stealing my earrings.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

We were finally able to track down the earrings and have shipped them to this guest. Glad you enjoyed our hotel otherwise and even more happy that you have your grandmother's earrings back. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

The hotel is perfectly suited for an overnight business trip. Great location downtown within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. Pleasant staff, clean rooms.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank kdubyaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed our great location. Doesn't Concord have a great downtown?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here and found it very convenient for getting around Concord. Our room was a king bed with pull our sofa bed for our teen. Staff at desk helped us add a night on our reservation even though it was originally through Expedia and gave us the same rate. Clean, free wireless, comfy beds, honor system snacks and drinks available twenty four hours.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Thank you for the feedback. You "hit the nail on the head" with your comments.... We have free high-speed internet (a Holiday Inn standard), we pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and you clearly enjoyed our new beds. When we purchased new mattresses earlier this year we called the Holiday Inns with the top 10 guest scores for mattress comfort and asked them which mattress they have. 7 of the 10 said Serta, so we purchased all new Serta mattresses. Glad you enjoyed them and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Concord for one weekend night recently and everything was great. The reception staff was very friendly and helped us out with anything we needed. The room was very clean and had been recently updated. I appreciated the Priority Club gift as it was something unexpected but appreciated. If we are in the area again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktpc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. We know you have a lot of choices when staying in Concord, NH and we appreciate your business. We hope you come back to stay with us next year during our beautiful Fall foliage season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I bid for a hotel room on Priceline for the north of Boston area since there wasn't really anything else closer since it was a last minute stay on the biggest holiday weekend in New England.....For $60, I think it was a pretty good deal. The hotel in right on main st just off the expressway, so the location was great. The room was clean, a realistic 3 star, but rather tired looking; there were 2 holes in the floor that were covered with carpeting, but every time you walked by you felt the holes-now why in the world did they not fix this. The room #215 was right across from the ice and soda machines, so that was a pain, but after bidding on rooms on Priceline, this tends to be what you get.....The free wireless was fast, yet there was no business center. Lots of restaurants nearby and room service was acceptable. A good choice for a place to sleep and that's about it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottagit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

Thank you for the review. We do pride ourselves on clean rooms, a great location, and exceptional customer services. Most of the rooms have received new carpet and wallpaper in the past year, which has accentuated the need for the furniture to be upgraded. If all goes as planned this is scheduled for 2011. Thanks again for staying with us and for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here for a wedding with the family, we confused the staff pretty well because half of the family booked 5 rooms each, but the staff who could have been rude, were very nice. The location is great, with walking distance to the shops and eateries. My kids loved the pool and Nonni's had pizza and breakfast, they need more wait staff but the staff that helped us were great. We had a lot of family and they seemed to handle everything pretty well. The rooms were better than expected, from a Holiday Inn, very clean and had plenty of room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loralie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed our hotel, staff, and Nonni's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Husband and I were looking for a place to just escape and do some driving around New Hampshire. I called this hotel to get the rates and ask about the location. The woman who answered took the time to talk to me about location of highway and whether we can hear it and if it's a loud neighborhood etc. Which they were all no. She did mention the hotel was having some work done on their roof and it could get very loud. We hesitated because of the noise and decided to call another hotel. When I asked the guy if I could talk to him about his hotel, he put me on hold and transferred me to the 800 number. I hung up and called the Holiday Inn back and made the reservation. She said she would hold a room on either the 2nd or 3rd floor so we weren't right under the work. Also worth mentioning, the prices was about $70 less then the online rates I was finding per night!

When we got there, the women at the desk remember me. We were given a room on the 3rd floor and on the otherside of the roof work. The room (King size bed) was great. Small kitchen area, Small couch and chair with table, desk and desk chair. TV, A/C and a comfortable bed. The room was clean and comfortable.

Service was great. Anytime we called down they were friendly. We asked for plates on night to eat dinner in and they came up right away. We had a great time.

There is an italian restaurant in the hotel that we went to for breakfast and dessert. Whenever we went there, the place was dead and it took a minute to get the staff moving to start waiting the table. But once they got going they did ok. It just didn't seem like a hopping place. The food was decent, but I would probably try to find someplace else. Another breakfast we had down the street at the Windmill Family Restaurant was much better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmed7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch9498, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and our service. Needless to say we pride ourselves on the service that we provide.

You'll also be happy to know that THE CONSTRUCTION ON THE ROOF IS NOW COMPLETE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Concord
Comfort Inn Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Concord
Fairfield Inn Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#2 of 8 in Concord
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Concord/Bow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown

Address: 172 N Main St, Concord, NH 03301-5067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: $146 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord Hotel's Guests Make Most of Downtown Location Situated in the heart of New Hampshire's capital city, this Holiday Inn(R) Concord hotel's location on Main Street is ideal for all travelers. Not only is the hotel just steps from the city's culturally rich downtown, but it is close to many businesses, as well. You can find a number of companies and institutions in Concord, NH. The hotel's business guests appreciate their proximity to Concord Hospital, the UNH School of Law, St. Paul's School, New Hampshire Technical Institute and PSNH/Bow Power Plant. The hotel is close to I-93 and I-89, making longer commutes easier for the hotel's business travelers. In Concord, NH, make it a point to look up and observe the historic architecture and landmarks throughout downtown. The cultural influence carries through to the restaurants, shops and pubs and creates a one-of-a-kind experience in downtown Concord, NH. The hotel's visitors also enjoy the beauty created by the fall foliage and the winter snow. In fact, patrons can travel just 18 miles to go to Pats Peak for excellent skiing, snowboarding and tubing. The Holiday Inn(R) Concord Downtown hotel provides our guests with convenient amenities like free wireless Internet access. EJ's on Main offers guests fantastic cuisine, while the indoor pool, sauna and whirlpool offer refuge from the winter cold or a long day. Stay with us for a unique visit to Concord's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Concord Hotel Concord
Concord Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing