We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sushi is quite good, best in the area”

Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #33 of 159 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The sushi is quite good, best in the area”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Based on actual experience, this is the best sushi in the area. The quality is good and the maki rolls are well sized with generous amounts of fish. The specialty rolls are a bit pricy, but ones like the Super Sakura are well worth the try. Pleasant service rounds out the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sushi was fantastic”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fantastic sushi made in front of us. Fast service, reasonable pricing. Would go back there again to eat. Serving size was perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
231 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

So let me disclose this is the last place on the list of options we would have selected - and the birthday boy did. O Well.

Our reasoning is that we find "hibachi" style Japanese restaurants lacking in a few ways: hard to have conversation with anyone other than those seated to your left and right; noisy, limited menu options. So we knew what to expect.

Here are my thoughts otherwise.
Our party of 5 seated at a table where 4 others were. No biggie, except as soon as we sat down the waitress took our drink orders. Then our food orders. And the chef arrived BEFORE either of the appetizers were brought to the table. A bit rushed, I'd say.

The scollops we way overcooked and hence rubbery.

When one of our party ordered dessert - deep fried ice cream - for everyone at the table the waitress only brought out one piece with a candle so we could sing happy bday. It took quite a while for her to return and that's when another one was ordered so the folks in our party could have a taste. By now the other party had left.

Slow response on being able to place an order for and then for getting second round of drinks for those who ordered them.

Staff was nice enough but We won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun experience!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here with the family, all sitting around the hibachi grill. Our chef was friendly, entertaining everyone, including the children. The shrimp, scallops, and sliced beef were cooked well and very fresh. We also had fried rice, noodles, and veggies prepared fresh on the grill.
I would definitely have dinner here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel46081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing