We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it thinks”

O'Steaks and Seafood South
Ranked #26 of 159 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 11 s main st
Description: Another "must dine" created by Chef Owner Scott Ouellette, O Steaks & Seafood South is located in Concord, ME. Offering only the freshest ingredients we work to bring you the classic steak house with something extra. Steak not your choice? Try the Lobster Mac & Cheese or one of our freshly prepared seafood dishes. Don't miss the Corn Pudding which is a must have or the Kobe Beef O pops. O Steaks and Seafood's wine list has been hand selected by Scott offering over twenty wines by the glass.
NH
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been to O'Steaks and Seafood six or seven times since it opened a couple of years ago - always hoping it will be better.
Pros -
Great location on Main Street, next to Red River Theatres and Gibson's Book Store.
Outside seating, which is rare in Concord
Interesting mixed drinks
Fun atmosphere - at the bar
Cons -
Really bad service. On four occasions, we have been forgotten for 30 minutes or more, and when we've brought this to the manager's attention, we still haven't gotten improved service. The restaurant does not staff the dining, bar and outside area sufficiently.
Menu doesn't change. The dinner menu is really heavy with steaks. The bar menu has some interesting lighter options but it hasn't changed.

The biggest problem by far is the service. At these prices - $100 for two for dinner and drinks - the service should be much much better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsprite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    83
    55
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Fantastic all the way around”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We first went to 0 in April of 2012 at the request of my son who was celebrating a birthday. We love the atmosphere, menu, service and find the prices very reasonable. We have been back 5 or 6 times since and have never been disappointed. It is a 30 minute drive from our home outside of Manchester and we would eat here over the Chop House any day of the week.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Concords best”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Between dinners, business dinner meetings lunches etc have been there about 50 times. Clearly I am a fan. Prefer to sit at bar and enjoy banter with bartenders. Food is great and Scott Oulett (owner) will make it right if not to your liking. The place has it's share of regulars but the staff treats all well without overt favoritism. I like that. 32 oz Kobe is good for three meals and the amazing corn pudding is simply the best comfort food I have ever had. Your server can have all calories removed if you request.
Dinner with drinks will surely lighten your wallet but lunch is the bargain of the century! Trust me.
Remarkably child friendly to boot. If there is a downside it is that I still like the Lakeport location better! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Time for a freshening up..."magic" is lacking.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have frequented O since it opened two years ago dozens of times. We like it better than the other "Magic Foods" locations in the Lakes region. The atmosphere is comfortable; ambiance / decor etc is great. It's too loud at the bar but we tolerate it due to their excellent bar staff. (Poor acoustics could be easily rectified with a ceiling treatment.) Signature O Chips with their blue cheese sauce is fantastic... and the Ahi Tuna is a safe bet too. Recently we have experienced terrible service at the tables and a big slip in food quality and consistency. (Unkempt waiter with a bad attitude and fried calamari so overcooked it was unrecognizable.) Several times we've been informed that the kitchen is closed (well before closing time/posted hours.) Weekend seafood specials are typically interesting/creative and well prepared; mahi mahi with couscous served on orchid petals and swordfish with a baked mini acorn squash come to mind as outstanding, however the menu is stale and needs an update. Upon opening I would have easily given it five "Stars" now it's closer to two. We hope they will revise and freshen up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bar and fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The appetizers are so great that I find it hard not to make them my dinner. The steak are fabulous and the lobster macaroni is a amazing. The wine and drink selection is wonderful. The decor is wonderful and you will feel like you are in Boston or NYC.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steaks and Seafood South also viewed

 

Been to O'Steaks and Seafood South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing