We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great bar food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
Ranked #3 of 157 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Common Man restaurant in Concord, N.H., located in New Hampshire's capital city, offers a variety of options to our guests - from our comfortable expanded lounge, Doc's Primary Pub, and deck areas, to our cozy dining room with crackling fireplaces, and private event rooms for functions. Choose from classic comfort cuisine such as Three Cheese Baked Macaroni and Cheese, Country Meatloaf or our famous Roast Prime Rib.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great bar food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love their bar menu and find that the prices are well worth it.Friendly wait staff and fun place to socialize.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    201
    91
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were disappointed. The service was good, but it was noisy and the food was adequate, but not special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaauca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Eat at any of their 22 locations for a great & consistent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Whether you are at the Concord, NH location or any of the 22 others around the state...you are in for a terriffic meal. We have eaten at 5 of them in less than a year & even had the best ever Thanksgiving buffet (Concord location). They all offer a similar menu & you can help yourself to the cheese & cracker table as soon as they seat you at your table. Each location has a slightly different decor but they all have one thing in COMMON....an inviteable & homey atmosphere with real fires going in the fireplaces. Go to their website, theCman.com to investigate all of the locations

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebel500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best, most consistent in Concord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Common Man is the city's best overall restaurant -- excellent service - creative menu - always well prepared. This is part of the Common Man group, a small but highly regarded chain in New Hampshire. Salads appetizers and desserts are excellent - seafood entrees especially good. The servers are all experienced, well-trained, knowledgeable, and attentive. There is a very nice bar upstairs. One drawback is that the acoustics are not the greatest, making it sometimes a little loud. The food and serviced make up for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always great food and service at the Common Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are fortunate enough to live in the Concord area and are able to dine here fairly often. The menu changes with the seasons and the food is always very fresh and good. It is one of our favorite restaurants in town. Plus they donate to local charities and stay involved in the community. I love the crackers and cheese variety that is always available to begin our meals or to snack on if we are just enjoying beverages.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing