We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Common Man restaurant in Concord, N.H., located in New Hampshire's capital city, offers a variety of options to our guests - from our comfortable expanded lounge, Doc's Primary Pub, and deck areas, to our cozy dining room with crackling fireplaces, and private event rooms for functions. Choose from classic comfort cuisine such as Three Cheese Baked Macaroni and Cheese, Country Meatloaf or our famous Roast Prime Rib.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food is good and the staff are really helpful and attentive. The upstairs bar area is nice and if you're after a quiet meal then the restaurant downstairs is also good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    216
    95
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“2 Dinners in 4 Evenings”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Yes, it was that good. Great value at this place. The food and service were both outstanding. The food came so fast we hardly had time to eat our salads. The staff is super friendly. The decor is that of an old country tavern. We almost didn't stop because the parking lot was in overflow mode. Made a quick call to them and they said that most of the people were in the pub and that seats were available in the dinning room. So check if in doubt. We walked here from our room at the Fairfield Inn right next door. Great wine list with bottles for half price on Wednesdays. The $51 bottle of Beuhlers Cab was only $25.50 and excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very busy, with good reason!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Large and bustling restaurant with plenty of interesting menu choices. We thought the cucumber salad was tasty and were given smaller portions of our pot roast and Portsmouth Pie entrees on request. Even though it was very busy we were neither forgotten nor rushed to turn the table over to the next customers. The white chocolate was a nice touch. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnKSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
415 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great bar menu”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

There was a 20 minute wait in the restaurant (although there were many tables) but there was room in the second floor lounge, a large area with varied seating possibilities. We ordered from the main menu and bar menu. The highlight was "lobster sliders" a sort of grilled cheese on Crusty bread with chunks of succulent lobster.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Large portions!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Found this restaurant in the AAA book and so glad we did. The decor and atmosphere are a lot of fun, even in the restroom! They have quotes from famous people written all over the walls, giving you something to read while you're waiting in line!

Free cheese dip and crackers are available. Our server also brought us a complimentary appetizer of candied carrots and other veggies. Yum! In fact, our server's fun personality helped make the meal enjoyable, although he wasn't as attentive as we would have liked.

The paper tablecloths are fun to draw on with the provided crayons.

This location was conveniently located just off the freeway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarmRescueVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Man also viewed

 

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing