We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Barley House

The Barley House
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Concord's choice for quality food, top-notch service, and fresh local micro-brews. Located across the street from the State Capitol, The Barley House is a popular spot for business lunches, parties, after-work crowds, and culinary pleasure seekers.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Solid and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stopped in at The Barley House when I pulled off the highway driving from Boston to Hanover. I drove around town until I found an area that looked to offer more substantial fare than the usual New England local "House of Pizza." I parked across from the State Capitol and The Barley House caught my eye. The menu in the window looked great. The experience was very good.

This restaurant ranks high on the usual points: good service, good location, appealing options, good food, appealing options, etc. The Barley House gets extra points for having a creative menu. The slight twists on good pub fare shows thoughtfulness.

I'll return if I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMA626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    188
    44
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Solid pub food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a fun and friendly meal here this week with excellent calamari and delicious beer. The lobster club wasn't a fave but hubby loved his chicken pot pie and daughter liked her quesadilla. It's not gourmet but it was good value.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good brews/food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

A group of us visited recently and enjoyed the food. Items I recommend are the scallops, mac & cheese and especially the black bean burger -- lots of flavor in that. Many good brews to choose from as well. Unfortunately the service was quite slow, even when the restaurant was only about half full. We waited 30 minutes for the first course and it went on from there. When we were ready to leave, I requested the bill and the server disappeared. After 15 minutes, I got up and found another server to retrieve the bill. Others from my group says this place is typically slow.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, busy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Food was good. I just ordered the cobb salad with avocado vinaigrette. Their bread basket consists of pretzel sticks and homemade hummus. Waitress was frantically busy. Overall a good meal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandwich mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Went to BH last Saturday night to take my family out to dinner. Had too wait a few minutes for a table, but expected that for a Saturday night. The waiter brought out hummus and bread sticks for the table and was able to accommodate my wife with a gluten free menu. I am not usually a beer drinking but I did try one of their many micro brews too choose from.
It did take a while for our meals to come out but when they did we all enjoyed them. My burger had to be one of the best burgers I've had in a long time. Come to find out that they grind their beef for their burgers daily. My wife enjoyed her pumpkin soup and salad and the kids liked the burgers and sandwiches.
So if your in the Concord area you must try the Barley House.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mggomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing