We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of New Socials Bar and Grill - CLOSED

New Socials Bar and Grill
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relaxed Atmosphere with a Touch of Class
North Hartland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a great place! If you are in the area, it's a must. We had a fantastic dining experience...can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perkinsville, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here once about 3 months ago and it was very average for the area. We made a repeat visit last night, not expecting any improvements and at a loss for where to go on a Tuesday night - but we were very surprised! Food and service were very good. Burger made with local beef (a recent change for the better) was 100% better than the frozen puck we had last time. And cooked perfectly to temperature. Live music was very pleasant and not too loud. We ordered the egg roll sampler for an appetizer for 2 and it was so much food that we couldn't finish our dinners and took them home. So - very fair prices, nice atmosphere, pleasant service and tasty food. We will officially put this on our 'where should we have dinner tonight' short list. Good job New Socials!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgal621111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh responsible ingredients”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic menu with excellent whole foods. Environmentally responsible choices. fresh greens. overall delucious. Service top notch. Daniel was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbitetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great burgers on Burger Night on Thursdays”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As a local, I hear about New Socials often when I ask friends where they like to eat. Finally I had the opportunity when family came to town from Long Island. They don't take reservations, and we didn't need to wait for a table at this time of year for 7:00 p.m.

The menu just the right size to tempt you towards many dishes while not making you feel overwhelmed. http://newsocialsbarandgrill.com/menu.html is on their website. I rarely eat red meat, but I do indulge in a hamburger if I am in a restaurant that serves good ones. Thursday night is burger night, so I chose a burger off their burger specials menu. It was the Texas Tumbleweed. One family member chose the boursin burger, and the other person chose a black bean burger. We all loved them. They weren't so stuffed with condiments that you couldn't taste the burger or the other components. It was perfect!

We also had beer and wine but were too full for dessert.

I didn't pay the bill, but it wasn't too much. With my family from Long Island, it was a cheap night for great food.

Our server was attentive and friendly. He came out to let us know when our food was about to come out. He asked how we were and if we needed anything else.

I will come here again.

As everything is in the part of the country, dress is whatever you want it to be with casual being the most common. The restaurant was originally Sophie & Zeke's, which was my favorite until it closed because of financial difficulty. The owners renovated the space that was an old downtown retail space. I'm glad to see that another great restaurant has taken the place and filled it.

Parking is easy downtown on the street. I've never had a problem finding a space.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArloBeagleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice atmosphere, reasonable prices and good service. We ate here on a Wednesday evening and took advantage of the $2 tap beer special. They had a nice variety of menu options. I decided on the Mushroom Swiss sandwich and it was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takeatripMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Socials Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing