We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an excellent experience!”

Common Man Restaurant Claremont
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
CLAREMONT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always an excellent experience!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is one of several around New Hampshire, and sorry I hadn't heard about it before moving here! This is a destination worth traveling to if you are within a 30-45 minute drive of Claremont or one of the other many fine "Common Man" restaurants in NH (though we are biased towards our local restaurant and team!) We're lucky to now be 10 minutes away. The decor, the quality of the food, and the service are excellent, and still available at a reasonable price (typically $17-22 for an entree,) with nightly specials for appetizers, entrees, drinks, and desserts. Live music is provided on Sunday afternoons. And don't miss the special treat in the restrooms to keep you entertained!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    73
    36
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We entered the restaurant in an old converted mill building and found the place warm and inviting. There was live music playing the night we were there, not so loud as to disturb your meal, but at an enjoyable level, so you could hear it and still carry on a conversation. The menu had several choices and the food we ordered ranged from average to very good, depending upon the item. Would go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhjvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another triumph for Common Man Claremont”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We enjoyed the Thanksgiving buffet at a comfortable booth overlooking the mill race. Ambiance was, as always, perfect. Servers, chef, and management were genuinely concerned that we had an enjoyable experience. Food was excellent and well prepared. We have lots of food allergies, so it was terrific to have a Thanksgiving feast that was very traditionally prepared -- delicious red bliss mashed potatoes, moist turkey, two kinds of stuffing, green beans almondine, cauliflower au gratin, Virginia ham that was not salty, and flavorful salmon. One thing I might have added would have been the opportunity to warm the apple pie. We give thanks for the Common Man!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEHGardenCity_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Average food.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Service was very slow, we waited 10 minutes to be seated and the place was half empty . Food was average, crab cakes were very dry, pot pie was a better choice. House wine was good. We were disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, nh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time but not the last”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wanted to try this place for a while and wasn't disappointed, Elizabeth was my waitress and was on top of her game, her service was great. I had the sirloin steak and was pleased that it was a good cut of meat, also had the lobster corn chowder but it was kind of bland. The atmosphere is beautiful in an old mill building with great views of the Sugar river, I will definitely be back for the dinner menu

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Man Restaurant Claremont also viewed

 

Been to Common Man Restaurant Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing