We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
153
49
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
153
49
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill continental breakfast sugar river escargot cotton swabs cookie cutter overlooking the river spent two nights hotel is located staff was very friendly and helpful definitely stay here again yogurt textiles lobby fireplace shutters uncommonly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 220 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2019

Just went to a wedding weekend at the Common Man. The venue is very eclectic, an old renovated mill building which has interesting architecture and well designed rooms. Beautiful setting and staff is welcoming, accommodating and kind. Great place for a wedding under one roof or family gathering. River rooms are worth the extra for the view.

Room tip: River view rooms worth the extra price
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinecJ2543XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Beautiful building and outdoor seating on the water. The food was ok. Bartender was nice enough but service was weird. Never took our full order after we ordered appetizers so we just ate the apps and had dinner down the street.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank H5426AWsamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Spent two nights at inn. Very neat and clean. Was nice and quiet. Staff is amazing. The using an old textile mill and adding the old fixtures etc in the decor is brilliant. Prices are more than fair. Will definitely try to get back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Elwood C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

We arrived late and left the next morning. Did not have an opportunity to try the restaurant, but I read it had good reviews. We'll have to try it on our next trip up to the area.
The staff were extremely friendly, both at night and in the morning.
Hotel is located behind the city's traffic circle, if you want to call it that. There appeared to be some parking in the front of the hotel, but there is a small amount of parking around the rear of the building.
It's right on a river with a man-made waterfall. Makes for a nice water sound, I'm assuming, if you open the windows in the evening during warmer weather.
The bed was soft with a feather top and lots of pillows to use.
The room was very clean, which is the first thing I look at and would complain about. Nothing to complain about here!!! If there were any negatives, it was that one light bulb didn't work in a bed-side lamp and I was stuck in the leg with a feather stem that was sticking out of the bed topper. LOL I had to laugh at that!
The bulb didn't matter since we went to bed right away anyway. Reminds me...I forgot to mention the bulb at checkout!
We purchased two warm hoodies from the lobby and the lady behind the counter did her best to find exactly the size my wife was looking for. When it was found that it wasn't in stock in the color she wanted, she offered to take our name and number to get in touch with us as soon as the new order is received. Again, extremely nice and professional, while personally engaged and interested in us.

Since we are going to be coming back up into the area for a property investment opportunity, we plan on returning to this hotel for a repeat stay.

Room tip: Ground level, river facing will give you the best sound option for an open window natural "sound machine" experience.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fire514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

Stayed here ten days ago. Very interesting site. Reuse of the old mill makes it a visual treat. Views out the back window over the creek would be very interesting in warmer weather. Floors are wood with rugs but not cold. Room was quite large. Bed was high an d a bit softer than I like. Made it look like an old fashion feather bed. Bathroom was quite adequate. Tub/shower a bit narrow and no grab bars! People have missed them to,as the towel bar next tot he shower was coming out of the wall. Otherwise I didn't notice any shortcomings. Passage to the restaurant is out doors over a private covered path. Could be a nuisance in really cold weather, but the breakfast provided was quite adequate and in side the hotel lobby.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the falls in nice weather
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterinAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews