We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches and View!”
Review of Harbor Deli

Harbor Deli
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Hatteras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and View!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a nice sandwich shop with excellent views! This staff is really nice and helpful to offer selections while ordering at the register. After ordering you can chose from a number of counter or hightop tables out in the porch area overlooking the water and fishing pier. The service was quick and the sandwich was nicely done. The Spreader Bar comes with a generous amount of meat and the roll was very fresh. I opted for deli mustard instead of the standard italian dressing and really enjoyed it. This place would also make a nice option for "to-go" sandwiches and picnic on one of the local beaches as well!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Product G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirebirdNC, Owner at Harbor Deli, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. The spreader bar is my favorite cold sandwich as well. I am glad that we took care of you and that you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, nice view”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stopped by the Harbor Deli after arriving on Hatteras Island from Ocracoke. The atmosphere is very basic, but clean. Orders are placed at the counter, where you get your own drink. The food is brought to you when ready. Seating is overlooking the harbor, where you can watch the fishing boats come and go.

I ordered the shrimp burger, which usually means fried shrimp---at least in most of coastal NC, but mine was made with broiled shrimp and served with chips and a pickle spear. I would rank it among the best shrimp burgers I've had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirebirdNC, Owner at Harbor Deli, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us and the nice words. We are very proud of our Shrimp Burger and all the care and attention that goes into it. Glad you stopped by and spent some time with us, see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great shrimp burger”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped in after getting off the ferry and were very glad we did. The shrimp burger and sweet potato fries were wonderful! Loved the stools/counters overlooking the water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Late Lunch Great Service Good Sandwich”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After driving the family to the end of the road in Hatteras we stopped for a late lunch at the Harbor Deli. The seating is on bar stools at bar style tables. The service was order at the register. The wait staff was pleasant and accomodating. The food came out relatively quickly and was delivered to the table by the wait staff. My wife and I had a Rueben sandwich and it was very good. My mother had the Shrimp burger and thought it was excellent. This was something she had never had before and wished she could get the reciepe. My son had the special Tuna steak sandwich and noted that it was very good. The cost was $45 for four. All in all it was a great lunch for everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeinintegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Marina Deli”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We found this deli on trip advisor ( of course!) and we weren't disappointed! The deviled eggs were fabulous, they made us breakfast during lunch time, and the fries were perfectly crispy. The dining area was perfect- stools and beautiful hardwood tables overlooking the marina. Exactly what we were looking for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dachsonomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Deli also viewed

 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to Harbor Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing