We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lavinias”
Review of Lavinia's

Lavinia's
Reserve with OpenTable
Lavinia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Center Harbor, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lavinias”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The atmosphere was nice but a bit noisy. The food was very good and a nice selection. I will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    52
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful setting and restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal here at the end of September. We both had chicken hotpot which was very tasty followed by creme brûlée flavoured with maple and pumpkin. An excellent choice. The server was extremely attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“exceeded of our expectation”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have come to Center Harbor for many years and are used to pay Boston's price for mediocre food in lake area. Seafood usually are over cooked with no spice and accompanied with water boiled vegetables, again with no spices. Well, we were surprised two nights ago when the arctic char was tender and juicy, with just enough bacon to make sprouts tasty.Salads were fresh and butternut ravioli were just simply delicious with light buttery taste and dough with right amount of chewy texture.Service was excellent and Brendan, the manager, was super friendly and efficient. We decided to skip the dessert because the selections appeared to be typical and not too inventive. This is a very nice place to spoil your appetite, even if you are from Boston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRCTDAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Definitely relaxed dining and wonderful food, too!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On recommendations from several friends who had been to Lavinia's, my husband and I decided to try this restaurant. We did not make reservations, but were greeted warmly by the hostess who asked us if we wanted to be seated in the main dining room or the pub. Both looked very inviting, but we chose the main dining room. Drinks were very reasonable and we shared a HUGE Caesar salad and a delightful appetizer of artichoke hearts. Our main entrees were cooked to perfection and very generous in size. Even the summer squash and zucchini were sauteed very well, still keeping some of their crunch. I saved room for a delicious piece of their homemade chocolate cream pie! We will definitely return to Lavinia's this winter so we can sit by the fireplace!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming lakeside dining”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came to Lavinia's based on a recommendation, and we will gladly return. Their patio made for the perfect summer outdoor dining experience. With well-maintained flowers, a heat-lamp, torches, and twinkle lights, the patio made a great place to watch the sun set by the lake while enjoying a great meal. Our waitress was genuinely friendly and relate-able, suggesting appetizers and her favorite dishes. The clam chowder and crab-stuffed shrimp were a delicious start, both great choices which we would gladly get again. The lobster carbonara was rich and creamy (you can't have too much bacon!), and the grilled scallops were well-prepared, though an odd match with their accompanying rice. The manager stopped by to check on us, light torches, and turn on the heat lamp as soon as the sun went down. The service was very responsive and personable, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was full of quaint, New England, charm. (The building's history boasts a connection to the underground railroad). Overall, a very pleasant dining experience. We will definitely be back when we return to New Hampshire.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epstandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavinia's also viewed

 
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Lavinia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing