We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Candia B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

A little while ago, my boyfriend and I stayed here for a night and had a horrible experience. I did not write a review immediately after our stay because frankly, I simply wanted to forget about it. However, we recently stayed at a different B&B and the hospitality of the hosts were so markedly different that I felt compelled to finally submit a review.
To the point, the service was bad. Due to events out of our control, my boyfriend and I arrived late in the evening (i.e. before 10pm). We called ahead to let the owners know, but to our dismay, the owner was indignant, expressing that they'll wait for us because they "don't have a choice." I remember those words verbatim, because I was shocked. Travelers and visitors often do not have control over flight arrival times and don't fully understand driving duration and distances. In addition, there was no curfew indicated when we made our reservation.
We stayed the night because we were exhausted and I had already pre-paid the room in full.
Within the house, there were notes indicating that if you were going to use certain things such as the washing machine or hair dryer, you would need to leave a dollar, a quarter, etc... This was bizarre. Banks are known to nickel and dime their customers, but it was uncomfortable to experience this at a B&B. I do not know if this is a regional practice, but I have never experienced this in any other B&B within or outside of the USA. I would suggest that they simply add another $5 to the room rate rather than nickel and dime their clientele.
To be fair, our room was clean and presentable. However, if you're looking for a place where the owners are accommodating and will go out of their way to make you feel at home which I have grown to value, this is not the place for you.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank bailar_mts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just had a very nice stay at the Clay Homestead B&B. It's a 1700s-era house with a pretty garden and fields around. Best was the friendly, helpful assistance of Theresa, the host.

The rooms were comfortable, with a big for-poster bed, robes, and closet space. There were books and magazines in the room, and the wi-fi worked fine. We're never super happy with sharing a bathroom, but it was big and comfortable, too, which I suppose you wouldn't have had if a bedroom in an old house had its own bathroom. There was a cable-connected TV downstairs in a common room.

Breakfast was good. We had a kind of apple pie-like pastry, with orange juice, tea and coffee. The dining room is all fancy, with china and silver.

Theresa was very helpful. She gave us dinner suggestions in the evening, and touring ideas the next morning. She even printed out a map and directions for us, unprompted. We really appreciated the conversation and the help.

It's a bit away from downtown Manchester, but we went back and forth from the city in 15 minutes. We'd come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shippinofftoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I brought my wife here for our 11 year anniversary and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our hostess was very kind, accommodating, courteous, and professional. We reserved the Concord Suite because we wanted a private bath, and it was exactly what we were hoping for; comfortable, clean, and nice character. We were also very pleased with our breakfast, which was prepared by our host, Ed, and was delicious and hearty. Overall it was a great experience and we will certainly be back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came here to get away and enjoy a change for a night. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. I am sold. Everything was wonderful. I had been doing quite a bit of business travel and have stayed at some pretty nice hotels. This was definitely on par with some of the better hotels that I have stayed at. We stayed in the Concord Suite which was spacious and off to the side of the house so we enjoyed some privacy. It was quiet. The bathroom shower is very small. The water pressure is excellent. The bed was very comfortable. My husband said the experience was similar to a hotel without the sterility. He wasn't talking cleanliness but the lack of personal touch at hotels. You are staying at someone's home as a guest. Breakfast was wonderful. The fruit cup was fantastic with bananas, kiwi, and strawberries. The pancakes were good but a little overcooked. They were homemade and very fluffy. My husband's eggs Benedict were excellent. He doesn't usually like English muffins but these were not Thomas's English Muffins. He said that they were big and fluffy. We highly recommend and will come back again if we decide to visit this area. They are pretty centrally located with area attractions about a half hour away. There are 4 restaurants in the area. We went to the Tuckaway and had a nice meal. It's a steak place with a good variety of menu options. It's also a pretty busy place. We recommend calling ahead.

Room Tip: Charmingfare room is lovely. Concord Suite is spacious. Exeter is lovely too but I like the Charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahitiDreaming10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we had a wonderful surprise trying this-our 1st B & B- on our way to a dear one's memorial service. Our hosts were very engaging and happily shared the history of this charming, well appointed home in New Hampshire. We had a "shared bath" but we were the only guests that night so we had all the guest space to ourselves! The bedroom was beautiful, filled with interesting memoriabelia and antiques (and a very comfortable 4 poster bed) as is the rest of "this old house"....TV is available in the comfortable sitting room, breakfast served in another "very charming" dining room. Fresh fruit salad, juice, delicious coffee and eggs benedict were our choices for breakfast which was perfect-so delicious and fresh! When we come this way again, we will plan to reserve our room at Stephen Clay Homestead B & B-immaculately clean and charming!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This wonderful B&B is ideally located in a quiet, small town setting just 15 minutes from Manchester, N.H. airport. The room (and home) was very tastefully decorated. The grounds are nicely landscaped and have (and are) been used for weddings, etc. The owners went out of their way to make you feel at home. Great italian restaurant nereby. So if you're passing through on your way to another destination (as my wife and I were) or looking for a quiet weekend getaway, this is one to put on your list.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkeen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AstridAnglofil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Address: 193 High St, Candia, NH 03034-2700
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Candia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Candia
Price Range: $128 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Southern New Hampshire and Historic Candia, the Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast opened for business in 2000. My husband, Ed, and I, Theresa, purchased this beautiful historic 200+ year old colonial in order to restore it and open our own B&B. Now with 3 1/2 beautiful acres and surrounded by beautiful gardens, fruit trees, stone walls, and restored with all the modern conveniences and comfort. This quaint B&B has 4 guest bedrooms, 4 working fireplaces, and Central A/C for summer comfort. We host beautiful outdoor summer weddings, small intimate rehearsal dinners or family reunions. Come stay with us if you are traveling the beautiful state of New Hampshire or visiting family in the area. We have 2 state parks close by and only 30 minutes to Hampton beach. We would love to meet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stephen Clay Homestead Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing