We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A satisfying experience”
Review of Mad River Tavern

Mad River Tavern
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Campton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A satisfying experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have dined here several times over the past few years and have found the MRT to offer a great meal for a reasonable price. The tavern was not busy and we seated ourselves in the bar. We were met by an attentive wait staff who took care of our beverage order quickly and took our lunch choices soon after. The tavern steak wrap was filled with a generous serving of shaved prime rib and sauteed mushrooms and onions plus fries. The Bink is a open face ham,turkey and swiss cheese on pumpernickel with gravy served on a small plate. The meal was satisfying without stuffing oneself and met all our expectations. MRT also offers a full fish and beef menu, Mexican on Wednesdays and a Sunday brunch. Full beverage selections and an ample choice of drafts. We will be back as soon as the opportunity arises.

Helpful?
Thank Bernmtndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    67
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moultonborough, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and welcoming”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at the Mad River Tavern the waitresses and staff in general are all willing to please you and are very welcoming when you walk in the door we found it very happy and the food was delicious fast service not long wait and it was very busy it is so clean and so cute inside and out we enjoyed ourselves so much the prices are very reasonable and the owner is very hands on and it definitely shows we would recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visit Waterville Valley at least once a year and always make a point to dine at the Mad River Tavern. The food is excellent, prices are great and the staff if always pleasant and courteous. Would highly recommend the Mad River Tavern to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner,NH
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pricey but excellent food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The place was packed when we went, and the hostess took us aside and told us it would be about 15 min so the wait staff and cooks could catch up. I was impressed by the hustle the wait staff had even after a long busy night. It was worth it. We had the steak and a seafood special. Both were vere tasty, and came with an ordinary garden salad, and some fresh baked bread. We were so full from the meal, we took dessert to go !
For 2 of us, with just entrees and dessert {no appitizer or drinks} it was $ 78, but it is in turist land.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NH_Camper_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious onion rings were a bonus!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Three of us took a ride to the mountains on a rainy, foggy day and stopped here for lunch. We all had burgers of different combinations and opted for an order of onion rings to share. We were assured the onion rings were hand cut and to order. Our burgers were wonderful, the brioche style buns lightly toasted, the fries that came with our burgers were nicely seasoned but the onion rings stole the show. Lightly battered, not to thick and not to thin. There was nothing left but some excess lettuce. We agreed we'd be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NashuaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad River Tavern also viewed

 
Campton, White Mountains
Campton, White Mountains
 
Campton, White Mountains
Thornton, White Mountains
 

Been to Mad River Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing