We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
Review of Mad River Tavern

Mad River Tavern
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Campton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
149 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Service was great, clam chowder tasteless and my entree was overcooked, although my fiancé's was very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aped1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    32
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good food, service, and price. Nice bar and separate restaurant. Give it a try for a nice mid level meal at a solid price. Good for children too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeaverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great decor, great times!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food and drinks at Mad River Tavern are great! The staff is very friendly and provide great service. I've had a few of the entrees and also some of the appetizers. The nachos are a huge hit and definitely large enough to share! Because it was late summer, the bartender was expiramenting with a pumpkin martini. The recipe he came up with was AMAZING! My only complaint is that the prices are a little high. There aren't a whole lot of other dining options in the area and I think they might be cashing in on that. But, the food and service are both good enough that you don't really feel like you're getting ripped off!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLovR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional Service”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have eaten here on a couple of occasions and must say that this trip was exceptional. We came in after visiting a friend in Littleton and decided that we would stop here because my friends family use to be regulars here when they had a ski house in Waterville. We were placed at a decent table, quickly served our drinks, and the pickest six year old there is asked for soup with egg noodles. Ken, our server, exceptional went out of his way to make it happen. Can I say, " the six year old asked and he accommodated her." We didn't ask nor expect anything like that. The meal was exceptional and the service is top notch. Really brings back good ol'hospitality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fair. Nothing special”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

There isn't much around to eat at so if in the area-you will end up eating here.
The service needs some help. Not the busiest place and they still can't get orders right and we were kept waiting throughout our entire dining experience.
Food was fair. Choices are plentiful but I wouldn't say anything is homemade. Pretty much per-made things or frozen.
If other choices sound appealing-go elsewhere.
If you have noisy kids and fair food will do for a night this is a good choice. Just know the service is slow and review your bill carefully.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkrm1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad River Tavern also viewed

 
Campton, White Mountains
 

Been to Mad River Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing