We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in a scenic area of New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in a scenic area of New Hampshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you are looking for a cozy and scenic place to stay for your October trip up to New Hampshire to see the leaves this is a great place to stay. Newfound Lake is great and would be great for the summer too! The host, Sandra, knew I was running the NH Marathon and she asked me what I wanted for breakfast and at what time which I think was very thoughtful. We missed out on the gourmet breakfast the morning of the marathon but the next day it was very welcomed with a well presented and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tri-amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
116
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our hostess "Sandra" was just gracious, making our stay most comfortable. Two choices for breakfeast-so wonderful that we shared breakfeast everyday so we could taste everything she made. Rooms clean and cozy, decorated to the era of the house. We felt at home here and that added to what we needed for out trip. I would highly recommend the Whipple House to everyone. The local area is just beautiful also. This quaint B&B is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank laweinacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Hostess great, rooms immaculate and breakfast great

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhawk172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. We were up at the Cardigan Lodge for a wedding, and decided to stay and have a weekend of our own. The service at the B&B was impeccable. The breakfast food was delicious - definitely try the blueberry pancakes. Our hostess was very helpful and accommodating, and even gave us a great running route down by the river! My husband and I are already planning a winter getaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatAlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Our recent stay at the Henry Whipple House B&B was so much more than we ever could have expected. My friend and I were in NH to be with our best friend who is terminally ill. This B&B was selected for its proximity to her home.

As soon as we walked into this beautiful Victorian home we knew this was the perfect place for us. The owner, Sandra, was friendly, knowledgeable, and one hard working woman. In the morning she prepared the most phenomenal breakfasts. Martha Stewart has nothing over Sandra! After breakfast she got to work attending to the many details that make this B&B so warm, unique, and special.

Everything from the English tea pots to the family pictures along the stairway to the authentic furnishings and decor made this B&B extremely welcoming and comfortable. If you really want to be blown away, take some time to sit on the front porch with a good glass of wine and take a look at the paint job. The attention to detail in the painting of the porch posts and the outside of the home is almost beyond comprehension.

Everything here is in harmony, it is a warm, peaceful and balanced home. We regretted that we had to leave. We asked Sandra to adopt us, but I think we are too old! We highly recommend The Henry Whipple House to anyone who is seeking quality lodging at a very charming B&B. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, ME
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

A first class B&B. A charming 100 year old victorian house. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jparker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

It was so welcoming, clean, cared for and with a lot of charm. Sandra was delightful and a very good cook. The room was comfortable and quaint. It has a lot more charm than in a hotel. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKB3963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
12.1 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
8.5 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
11.1 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing