We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haydenville, Massachusetts
1 review
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was in town for one evening with a friend, and we were fortunate enough to have stayed at the Henry Whipple house. We were greeted by the Owner, who was a sweetheart. She explained how everything worked, how to get in and out, breakfast and such.

It's a beautiful old house, with seemingly endless rooms. My friend and I stayed in the "Weaving Room"... 2 very plush beds, and a large private bath. The room had it's own AC unit, which was great. The whole house is decorated stylishly.

Breakfast was probably the best part... Scones, Omelets, Fresh fruit. We had a chance to relax with the owner, and trade travel stories. All together, an excellent experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuietOne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
118
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Henry Whipple House the night before a triathlon, and the room and hostess couldn't have been more perfect! The room had cable TV, a comfortable bed, and was decorated very well. The hostess, Sandra, was accommodating from the moment I reserved the room: she contacted me before our stay to inquire about any special breakfast needs I might have the morning of my race, she greeted us by name when we pulled into the driveway, and she made it possible for me to return after my race for a quick shower!

I would HIGHLY recommend the Henry Whipple House for anyone looking for a charming, comfortable, and perfect stay in the Bristol, NH area!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiNRideVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We have stayed at the Whipple House twice and enjoyed both times immensely. The first time was early summer and it was a great location in which to tour New Hampshire and Vermont. The second time was during spring break where we used it as a base to hike the mountains. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the gourmet breakfasts are delicious. We brought our teenage son and Sandra and Clay made him feel at home, and he had a great time staying there. Because Sandra provides multiple options for breakfast, he always left the table completely full and happy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ut-roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

A charming B&B in a century-old Victorian. Beautifully restored, each bedroom is decorated in a singular style and has its own bathroom. The owner cooks a fabulous full English breakfast to rival any four star hotel -- always the highlight of our stays (we've been there four or five times now). The town of Bristol sits next to Newfound Lake, with hiking, biking, other outdoor sports nearby. It's also within an easy drive of many of New Hampshire's main attractions (Franconia Notch, Mt. Washington, other noted lakes).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Sandra is the ultimate hostess, cheerful, accommodating, serving an excellent breakfast! She and her husband Clay know the area well and can give you detailed tips for sightseeing, meals, pretty much anything you can think of!

Bristol is a small, quiet town, making it an easy place to just be. The inn, right near the center, is impeccable, so comfy to have as home base for NH activities in all season, especially outdoor ones, from skiing, to hiking and biking. I've been a guest there in all seasons. From sheets and towels, to decor, it's easy to feel at home in the inn. I sleep better there than I do at home!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loren17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the inn on a Saturday night after a long day of skiing at Ragged Mountian. We've been staying at B&B's for the past few years and this places is right at the head of the class as far as the typical B&B. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was great. I was very happy with our stay. I have no complaints...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My daughter and I do an annual ski weekend and stay at the Whipple House, which is often the highlight of our trip! Sandra makes THE BEST homemade scones (and normally I don't even like scones), the high thread-count sheets are delicious after a day of hiking or skiing or whatever, and the proprietors are super nice and friendly. Did I mention the scones? Sandra offers a scrumptions gourmet menu each morning and great juices and hot drinks. The rooms are clean and comfy and nicely decorated, the WIFI works well, and did I mention the fresh scones?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsweekendJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
103 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pleasant View B&B
Pleasant View B&B
#3 of 4 in Bristol
22 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
356 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing