We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for skiing Ragged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've just come back from three nights at The Henry Whipple House, which we used as a base to ski at Ragged Mountain (20 min away). We stayed in the Weaving Room, which was a very good size for the four of us. Breakfast was always superb and proper English tea to go with it. Sandra is a great hostess. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Perfect for friends, couples, family or either way alone. The owners are so nice and also help us to find the perfect places to do all the activities that we planned and also gave us information of additional activities. There is a big lake close to the house where you can fish. It's just 15 minutes from a snow mountain for begginers and 40 minutes from the intermedia and hard snow mountain. The service, the breakfast and the area are perfect for a relax and funny winter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rous O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Chose as was closest lodging to Ragged Mtn. Very nice surprise. Room and inn was so clean, great bedding, and owner Sandra could not be nicer. Would def return

The food in the morning so good. I always thought scones could double as hockey pucks but Sandras were delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose Bristol as a central location to all NH has to offer and selected the Henry Whipple House as it’s in town close to most of the restaurants and extremely affordable. We could not believe our luck. The owners have done such a wonderful job with renovating this grand old Victorian house – and all the original features remain even with the modern addition of bathrooms. All the rooms are large (we were allowed to look inside all the rooms) with queen or king beds and each uniquely decorated with care for the traveler and without being overly fussy and full of knick-knacks as with some Victorians. Now the important stuff: beds are very comfortable, sheets are lovely, towels are soft, everything is spotless, amenities are high-end, rooms have cable TV, WiFI, and AC units. As everyone else has said the breakfasts are truly special and more than enough to eat, we took our extra scones for a snack and didn’t eat them until late afternoon. Also, there is an area to make tea and coffee where homemade snacks are available together with a basket of other snacks and a guest fridge which also has free soda. We liked having access to a fridge and microwave for reheating our leftovers from the previous night’s dinner. Last, but by no means least, the owners are really friendly and extremely knowledgeable. They gave us so many recommendations for things to do (that we had not considered) that kept us away from the crowds on the busiest of days. We’ll definitely be back and would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our stay with the Whipple house was amazing. They were very fast and informative in email communication, they were very flexible as we were checking in late after our wedding. We also asked to have breakfast served in our room, as it was our first morning as a married couple and they came through perfectly! GREAT building, GORGEOUS room, THE BEST food we've eaten at a B&B. Recommended HIGHLY! The kitties were adorable too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My stay at The Henry Whipple House was a delightful experience, with its tastefully decorated, spotlessly maintained and comfortably luxurious rooms, delicious and artfully presented gourmet breakfasts (including the freshest, tastiest scones that you will ever eat, baked daily in the inn's kitchen), and a very engaging and helpful innkeeper/chef, Sandra, who is committed to helping make your stay an enjoyable one (she also bakes delicious cookies to welcome you on your return from nature excursions at nearby Cardigan Mountain and Newfound Lake). I will definitely return to this very well-run inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were here for the NH Marathon and Sandra went out of her way to take care of the runners – providing exactly what I asked for at an early hour and allowing my wife to come back later for the amazing full breakfast. The house is quite spectacular with all the original Victorian features intact. We stayed in The Sewing Room which has a newly renovated bathroom with original stained glass – can’t get that in many places! We had a TV and AC in our room and a great WiFi signal so we could stream a movie on our laptop. This really is a great deal for the price. We loved the location in that we could walk to the race start/finish and all there is in town – Kathleen’s Cottage and The Mill Ice Cream Fudge Factory are a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRunner1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
383 reviews
16.2 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
220 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $125 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing