We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I, along with my in-laws, stayed here for Camp Pasquaney's Parent weekend. The place is lovely, spotless and with all the modern conveniences of the best hotels. Sandra's attention to detail and hospitality is first rate. The two rooms we stayed in had many distinctive architectural details that made them unique. The "Sewing Room" in particular has a very lovely bathroom located in readapted space featuring an amazing stained glass window.
The breakfast each morning was delicious and memorable - we still rave about Sandra's scones! Since our son loves camp and it's his first summer, we expect to be staying at Sandra's Henry Whipple House for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
116
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were looking for a place near a wedding and we hit the jackpot! There was a heatwave when we arrived and this lovely jem of a B & B had A/C in the bedrooms! While we had a room for 2 with our own bathroom (each room did), there were also other families who stayed with their children--so good for either couples or families. Other family members and friends stayed at a nearby B & B and were very unhappy with the owner/hostess. Sandra is the perfect hostess--her personality defines what the perfect B & B owner should be. She gave wonderful guidance on timeframes for touring around the wedding plans and where to find great food. The breakfasts were divine and the scones were the best I've tasted. This place is very close to Newfound Lake, which is pristine. The wedding was at Mt. Cardigan, about a 30 minute drive. New Hampshire is wonderful and we were relatively close to many wonderful places--about a half hour drive to Weirs Beach on Lake Winnipesaqua, where we enjoyed a beautiful drive around half the lake. Weirs Beach has attractions similar to boardwalks, but also a railroad and huge ship for cruises, which we didn't do any of. One day we drove 45 minutes to Franconia Notch State Park and took the tramway to the top (4,000+ feet), hiked a short way to the observation tour and lucked out on a clear and windy viewing day--so no black flies. Needless to say, there's plenty of hiking and boating in this area. It's rural, green and beautiful. My hubby would add that if you rent a convertible, it adds to the feel of nature and fun, which we did.

Room Tip: They all looked nice. We never heard the road--not sure if it was the A/C making it quiet. While a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurse_Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here recently and everything was very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is located a block away from downtown Bristol. We hope to visit again in September.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful house for the Mooseman triathlon. Very close to the race start, about 10 minutes away. Sandra was a great hostess, thinking of everything for the guests. The house was very well maintained and clean, with very interesting architecture. The beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was great, and Sandra even prepared coffee and drinks for us on race day very early, 4:30 AM. If you are ever in the need of a room in Bristol, NH, consider the Henry Whipple house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My boyfriend, his father and I stayed with Sandra & co. at The Whipple House this past weekend for the Ironman Mooseman 70.3 Race. The place is as good as all the review say it is - amazing food, amazingly comfortable beds, and incredibly welcoming. The decor inside the house as well as the architecture only added to the unique and history-filled aura. I will definitely be bringing my mother back for another stay. In addition, Sandra was extremely accommodating to all of the athletes staying that weekend - she even made sure there was hot coffee and continental breakfast before we all left at 4:30 AM! Now that's dedication to running a top-notch business if I ever saw it. If you are staying in or near Bristol, NH - or just want to enjoy a lovely, luxurious and quaint little get-away, this is it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House Suite #1 during the 2012 Mooseman Ironman. It was an incredible amount of space with a very functional kitchen and perfect for sharing with our young one. Sandra was a very accomodating host and even set up a crib for us in advance of our arrival. Couldn't ask for a better location and place to stay in Bristol, HIGHLY reccommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fomocolovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a wonderful B & B ! Lovely rooms all throughout this beautiful and tastefully done Victorian home. Henry Whipple would be pleased ! Kudos to Sandra & Clay.
Bed was so comfy and linens and pillows right on. En-suite bathrooms with plush towels and
all the thoughtful extras . T. V. flat screen in room for those of us who must .
We wanted for nothing! Next day an unbelievable full breakfast ,including home made English scones.....to die for! Sandra was the perfect hostess.
This part of N.H. offers so much. New Found Lake and Bristol area are just beautiful..
We'll be back in August.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
12.1 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
8.5 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
11.1 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer St, Bristol, NH 03222-3275
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing