We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bristol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Whipple House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Whipple House
Ranked #1 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We are considering a move to the area and needed a place to stay the before meeting our realtor. The Henry Whipple House seemed like the best choice - some B&B's in the Lakes region were not open yet - and after staying here, am glad we stayed there. On arrival, we asked our innkeeper for dinner recommendations and were very pleased with her suggestion (Kathleen's Cottage in Bristol). Our room was comfortable and we appreciated having a tv in the room (normally, I don't expect a tv in the room of a B&B, but it was very nice to relax after a long drive and watch the Masters golf). As others have stated, the breakfast is very good. as we were the only guests, we were able to have a long chat with Sandra during our meal. The cats are friendly and their presence did not bother my 'allergic to cats' husband. The Inn is on the main road into town, but since we live on a state highway, the road noise did not bother us and it did seem to quiet down in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moody376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
106
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

It was easy to find. We were greeted as we took our bags out of our car in the parking area. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, as was the bathroom. We had a wonderful breakfast (choice of two dishes). The scones were great, service was excellent. I was allowed to clear the table and bring things into the kitchen which I liked. The cats were quite well behaved although I would love to have had them sleep on my bed with me. (that is not allowed which I completely understand)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

House,over a 100 years old, very clean, In middlle of town,11 miles from skii slopes,quiet suroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Sandra made us feel like old friends! Enjoyed our room and our breakfast. Esp hot scones every morning!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at The Whipple House for two nights of our ten day New England trip and wished we were staying here for the entire trip. This was by far the best place we stayed at during our holiday especially as the prices are so reasonable for what you get. Great central location, friendly and knowledgeable hosts and incredible breakfasts - we didn't need lunch! Couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This cosy B&B and it's welcoming owner, Sandra, gave us an excellent start of our honeymoon. The room was extremely romantic and nice, with fireplace and several candles. We even had a little wedding gift waiting for us in our room when we arrived. The Inn at the Lake (or something similar) is also a great place to eat 5 minutes down the street from the B&B.
And, as many others have written here, the breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRamstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Vt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had a very relaxing time. The Inn was very well kept, the hospitality was great and the breakfasts were delicious. This is a great place to stay if you have food allergies; Sandra was very accomodating.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomaswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
12.7 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
2.8 mi away
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
12.3 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Property: Henry Whipple House
Address: 75 Summer Street, Bristol, NH 03222
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing