We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular neighborhood pub/restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathleen's Cottage

Kathleen's Cottage
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular neighborhood pub/restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Kathleen's Cottage has pulled off something that restaurants have tried and failed for decades to do in the Bristol, NH area: Survived as a year-round entity in a summer vacation spot.

Kathleen's is a great local joint. It's small and friendly. The food is several notches above the usual pub fare. Perhaps the greatest strength of Kathleen's is this: The fried food is spectacular! So many restaurants really don't know how to fry food. Kathleen's onion rings are a gift to the palate!

It's not a trip to the Lakes Region without a trip to Kathleen's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a gem in a sleepy little NH town. We eat here at least once whenever we visit Bristol. The food is always delicious and the service is welcoming and speedy. We have never been disappointed eating here and would recommend to anyone. Generous portions & great Guiness on tap!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NY-HAWGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great spot for friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our friends brought us here for lunch and were had a great meal. It was a Saturday around 2pm and it was very quiet. We were seated right away and our waitress was excellent. We shared the onion rings as an appetizer and they were among the best I had ever had. The dipping sauce that came with them was amazing. We then all had sandwiches for lunch, ranging from rubens to lamb burgers to chicken wraps. All of our meals were delicious and fairly priced. I would definitely return here again if in the area. The bar area seemed to have a large variety of drinks as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute place, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We'd heard a lot about Kathleen's Cottage long before we finally got around to trying it. It's great! The food is excellent and the atmosphere is charming. On Friday nights they have live Irish music and sometimes even some Irish Step Dancing. The place is rather small and there isn't much of a waiting area, so if you arrive at "prime" time then it's not uncommon to have to wait outside. This is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachbertvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just stopped for a quick lunch, but if we'd been in the area longer we probably would have returned for dinner. Well-behaved dogs are allowed in the outdoor seating area!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kathleen's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing