We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views of a beautiful lake and mountain range”
Review of The Big Catch

The Big Catch
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.restaurantica.com/nh/bristol/the-big-catch/23263937/
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.restaurantica.com/nh/bristol/the-big-catch/23263937/
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular views of a beautiful lake and mountain range”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great fried food great ice cream at such a good value. Have a drink and admire the view I prefer sitting outside inside can be warm

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, MA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've never had a bad meal at Big Catch. Very casual (people come in from the beach), you just grab a table - we like the tables on the deck, but inside is fine, especially if you have a big crowd. Nice place to sit at sunset. Wait staff is very friendly. The ice cream is excellent. Love the Jamaican salad, good burgers, fried clams are excellent, our daughter loves the tuna and fries, and the fried haddock is one of my favorites. There's also a bar where you can catch the Red Sox score while sipping your margarita.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great location at one end of the lake.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perfect spot to have a cold drink, good food, and watch the sun set over the mountain tops.The food is simple but good. The service is good considering how busy they are on nice sunny days.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
1 review
“Awesome place”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I have been going to Newfound Lake for the past 42 years and we will be going again this coming Saturday for 2 weeks. For the past 15 years or so, one of the "traditions" we have been faithful to is meeting at the Big Catch for lunch before checking in to our cottages. With 12 - 15 people, there are always a variety of menu items ordered and no one has complained about their food, service and not especially the view of Newfound Lake. Yes, it can be loud and noisy and parking can be at a premium
but considering that its at the beach and it is summer, what do you expect?

Looking forward to my next visit on July 20th.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for groups too!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff friendly and accommodated our group of 18 easily. Food delicious, Rachel our wait person was fabulous! Be sure to try the Po Boy Fried Dough and Ice Cream dessert! Mmmmmmm!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sidevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Big Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing