We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but pricey for area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the upstairs Hemlock room which was clean and nicely decorated but rather small and hot. The common areas are comfortable and large, with great views of Newfound Lake and lots of games, books, magazines, puzzles and a telescope. The grounds are very well-kept. There is a hammock, a yard to relax in, and even a chicken pen. We were not fans of the breakfast, a sort of bread pudding/souffle followed by a quiche-type dish, but maybe it was just a bad day. For the price we felt our room felt crowded and stuffy, even with windows and fan. A beautiful place to visit but we would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mallymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for A Newfound Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We thought we’d stayed in some good b&bs before but this was without doubt the best we have ever visited! Sondra could not be more welcoming or accommodating. The breakfasts are so good and the whole house and surrounding area is lovely with a view over the lake that is spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandtBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were in NH to visit family and also had our two dogs with us. Normally we would leave them with a sitter but couldn't this time. All of our bookings had to be at dog friendly places which we haven't always found to be the best. After reading the fabulous reviews for A Newfound B&B we decided to take advantage of the five night special in the Birches room. Are we ever glad that we did! The house, grounds and gardens are beautiful and our room (one of the smaller ones in the house but not a small room) was quite comfortable even with our two furry companions. The view of the lake from the deck and patio is magnificent especially at sunset. Sondra is an exceptional hostess. She creates a relaxing, comfortable environment and even offers guests the use of the kitchen and grill which we took advantage of to make lobster and trout dinners on a couple of evenings. The breakfasts, all making use of the fresh eggs from her small flock of hens, were the best we've ever had at a B&B.

We give it our highest possible recommendation. You'll have a great time and if you happen to be traveling with pets they will love it too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellmark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Sondra is one of the best B&B owners that I have ever met. She is welcoming and made us feel at home from the minute we walked in the door. Since Sondra is a "local" she is great at restaurant recommendations as well as local activities. Plus, Sondra is a fabulous cook. The breakfasts were sinfully yummy. Bring your sweet tooth since there is always a scrumptious cake to eat plus cookies, and coffee cake, and zucchini bread... Did I mention the room was great (Cardigan) and the entire home is spotless. We would highly recommend staying here in the mountains. The view of Newfound Lake is spectacular. Thanks Sondra for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband surprised me for our anniversary and booked the room on the first floor with the jacuzzi. This was an amazing B&B with a view that's breathtaking. It's on top of a mountain so the drive is quaint and fun. We really lucked out because on this particular night we had the entire place to ourselves and enjoyed every moment. We felt right a home - went to town and decided to do some take out and a bottle of wine so we could enjoy a sunset meal on the deck overlooking the lake and mountains. Felt right at home in the entire place and the kitchen too. I sneaked a peek at the other rooms. They are all beautifully done, however, I recommend the jacuzzi room because of the view from the room - and it's fun taking a jacuzzi with the shutters open and looking at the lake and mountains. It's really fun waking up to it in the morning too. Breakfast was great. They have chickens discreetly tucked away so there's fresh eggs in whatever delicious recipe you're lucky to be served. The owner has her own quarter not connected to the main building so you feel like you're in an inn or if you're lucky like us - you have your own beautifully decorated and comfortable summer home. All in all, a wonderful time and a wonderful anniversary. My husband did well on this one!

Room Tip: First floor jacuzzi room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have stayed at Sondra's B&B several times.I would give the Newfound B&B 10 stars.The moment you walk in the door there is a feeling of calm and relaxation.I leave refreshed, even after spending a couple of hrs paddling Newfound lake and hiking Cardigan mountain.Sondra creates a friendly atmosphere with the guests.She goes out of her way to accommodate.The breakfasts are a plentiful dish of tasty gourmet excellence.Many choices of coffee,tea and hot chocolate.Every corner of the inn is so clean,cozy and beautifully decorated.
I love sitting on the upper deck to watch the sun slowly rest into the mountain ranges leaving splashes of natures vibrant peaceful color across the sky.
Fresh fruit and baked goodies galore await you. The room decor has a calming affect.And the beds ...soft plush cozy clean ,the fresh night air drifts in and it's off to dream land undisturbed .This B&B is top on my list.I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A nicely-kept, warm, clean, beautiful, fine and mellow B&B. We loved everything about our stay. My wife and I have had hit-or-miss luck with Bed and Breakfasts over the years, but a New Found Inn was outstanding.

Room Tip: If one is available, get a room on the upper level of the Inn.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_in_the_ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
9.6 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
6.1 mi away
Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
155 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
8.6 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Newfound Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Newfound Bed & Breakfast

Address: 94 Mandi Lane, Bristol, NH 03222-3480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $238 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Newfound Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Newfound Bed & Breakfast faces Newfound Lake and Mt. Cardigan. Enjoy many beautiful views and settings on the property. Inside the B&B you will feel like you are in a warm, comfortable home with many amenities. We can assist you in planning your stay with the many attractions, shopping and dining surrounding Bristol, NH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your A Newfound Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing